Library Research Guides: ENG 286: The Gay 1990s and Beyond: News Sources & Public Opinion

Databases with Newspapers & Magazines

You can use the publication date limiter on the results page to find historical evidence about a person, event, movement, cultural artifact, etc. Limit by content type to newspaper or magazine articles to look at evidence in the popular or alternative press.

Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
Articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press, 1995 to present.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), full text database of newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses, 1960 to present.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
With a focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas, this collection gathers historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community, and changes in gender roles, including articles dating back as far as the 1970s.
Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search for historical articles in a variety of major American and British newspapers. Comprised of the following titles, which can also be searched individually: Boston Globe, 1872-1989; Chicago Defender, 1909-1975; Chicago Tribune, 1849-1997; Guardian and the Observer (UK), 1791-2003; Los Angeles Times, 1881-1996; New York Amsterdam News, 1922-1993; New York Times, 1851-2016; and Washington Post, 1877-2003
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, produced by LGBT activists, feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, the extreme right-wing press, and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Index to literature on topics pertaining to sexuality and gender identity, including full text for over 140 of the most important and historically significant LGBTQ+ journals, magazines, and regional newspapers.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
One of the largest collections of US newspapers, many in full text, as well as news sites, blogs, and newswires from the 1980s to the present (dates vary by title). Includes The Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal.

Public Opinion Polls

Roper iPOLL This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of 500,000 questions and answers from surveys collected by the major polling firms in the U.S. since 1935, with downloadable datasets.
Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window
Compilation of hundreds of thousands of public opinion survey questions and responses, at the local, state, national, or international level, 1986 to present.