Library Research Guides: Fellowship Applicants: Library Support for Students & Alums: Explore Educational Systems

Starting Points

Eurodicye - National Education Systems
Overviews of the education systems in 37 European countries.
Education GPS (OECD)
Explore data and reports about education policies and practices around the world.

The World Education Encyclopedia: A Survey of Educational Systems Worldwide is a country-by-country survey of educational systems, including their histories and legal foundations. Although it's from 2002, it can provide a good historical picture of the creation and structure of educational systems around the world. The following links take you to each volume in the Internet Archive, where you can borrow them for an hour at a time with a free account.

Books on Global Education Systems

The Education Systems of Africa
Publication Date: 2021
Covers current issues and trends in the education systems of different African countries.
The Education Systems of the Americas
Publication Date: 2021
Focuses on the education systems in the three Americas (North, Central and South America) and includes a chapter on most countries in the region. The chapters follow a common structure and include information on the development, organization, and current trends in mainstream education from pre-primary to tertiary level for each country.
The Education Systems of Europe
Publication Date: 2015
Presents statistical data, analysis, and descriptions of education systems in all European countries.
Handbook of Education Systems in South Asia
Publication Date: 2021
Covers indigenous education traditions, formal education systems, school and preschool education, higher and professional education, education financing systems and structures, teacher education systems, addressing linguistic and other diversities, marginalization within the formal education system, and pedagogy and curricula.

English Language Teaching

International Handbook of English Language Teaching
Publication Date: 2007
This two-volume handbook examines policy, practice, research, and theory related to English language teaching (ELT) in international contexts.
Essentials for Successful English Language Teaching
Publication Date: 2010