Skip to Main Content

Wellesley College Research Guides

Wellesley Home | Library & Technology Services | Research Guides

ENG 120: Critical Interpretation

Why Use Reference Works?

Reference works such as specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks can provide

an overview* of a topic, person, or work; often written by scholars in the field*	definitions of key terms
suggestions for further sources	vocabulary (keywords) for database searching

Reference Databases

Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
To find background, biographical information, and overviews of authors, works, movements, etc., check the box for Reference Works under Content Type when doing your search. You can also filter to Reference Works after running your search.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Biographies, topic overviews, reviews, and scholarly analysis of authors and works from all genres, eras, and regions of the world.

Selected Encyclopedias & Handbooks

The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
Publication Date: 2012
Over 1,100 entries on the history, theory, technique, and criticism of poetry, including coverage of more than 100 nations, regions, and languages.
The Princeton Handbook of World Poetries
Publication Date: 2016
The Cambridge Companion to Modern American Poetry
Publication Date: 2015
The Cambridge Companion to American Poetry Since 1945
Publication Date: 2013
The Princeton Handbook of Poetic Terms
Publication Date: 2016
The Encyclopedia of African-American Writing: Five Centuries of Contribution: Trials & Triumphs of Writers, Poets, Publications and Organizations by Grey House Publishing Staff
Publication Date: 2018
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature
Publication Date: 2004
The Oxford Companion to Modern Poetry
Publication Date: 2013
Contemporary Poetry (Edinburgh Critical Guides to Literature) by Nerys Williams
Publication Date: 2011

Last Updated: Jan 30, 2025 11:25 AM
URL: https://libguides.wellesley.edu/eng120
Print Page

Subjects: English, Writing