Elizabeth I and Her Circle
by
The Heart and Stomach of a King
by
Elizabeth I: The Voice of a Monarch
by
Elizabeth I: The Competition for Representation
by
Full-text scholarly journal articles and books on all aspects of literature, along with literary reference works (encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, and topic overviews) and the full text of thousands of literary works from the 8th century to the present.
Scholarly articles on literature, languages, linguistics, film, folklore, and rhetoric, from all cultures.
Peer reviewed articles and book reviews of world history (excluding the US and Canada), 1450 CE to present and searchable by historical time period.
Peer-reviewed articles, scholarly books, and academic theses published from 1859 to present on all aspects of medieval and Renaissance life (400 CE to 1700 CE).
Dates: 1859 CE-Present
Articles from an international array of publications covering topics in art and architectural history, archaeology, museum studies, graphic arts, industrial design, landscape architecture, urban design, photography, costume design, film, non-western art and more.
Scholarly journal articles and books in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Does not include the most recent 3-5 years of many journals.
Go to the Library's Databases A-Z list and use the Subjects menu to find other databases relevant to your topic.
Full text plays (classical to contemporary), filmed live performances, and scholarly books on theater.
Scholarly articles and reviews about Shakespeare. Each annual collection is organized around a theme and also contains reviews of the year's Shakespeare scholarship and major British performances.
Full-text literary criticism on Shakespeare's plays and poetry, selected from scholarly journals, magazines, books, reviews, diaries, newspapers, pamphlets, and other sources. Commentary ranges from the 17th century to the present, providing an historical perspective on critical reactions to Shakespeare.
Use AND to combine multiple concepts in your search. This will narrow your results.
Elizabethan drama AND gender AND power
Use OR to find different ways your topic could be expressed. This will expand your results.
Elizabethan drama AND (gender OR femininity OR masculinity) AND power
Use an asterisk * to find variant endings, or as a wild card. This will expand your results.
Elizabethan drama AND (gender OR feminin* OR masculin*) AND power
Use quotation marks " " to search words as a phrase. This will narrow your results.
"Elizabethan drama" AND (gender OR feminin* OR masculin*) AND power
The library catalog is another way to search for books, ebooks, and videos. Although SuperSearch includes the library catalog, searching the catalog separately can give you a smaller, more focused set of results. You can also use the subject terms to browse related materials.
Try a keyword search. Once you find a book that's relevant to your topic, click on the title and look for Subjects in the record of that book to help you find "more like this."
Sample keyword search for
leads to linked subject terms and more books related to this topic:
Clicking the first word or phrase above will show you everything listed under the broader topic (e.g., English drama). Clicking a subsequent word or phrase will take you to the narrower subtopic.
Not finding enough? Search WorldCat and request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.