Library Research Guides: ITAS/MER 263: Dante's Divine Comedy (in English): Get Started

Welcome!

Welcome to the Research Guide for ITAS 263: Dante (in English). This guide provides some useful starting places for your research. Please feel free to contact me for assistance in navigating these resources or any aspect of the research process.

SuperSearch

SuperSearch is a great place to start for journal articles, books and almost everything else the library has, in one easy to use interface.

For searching with more focus and precision, try one of the databases recommended on this guide.

Find Background & Overviews

Specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks can be a great place to find

a general overview of your topic, often written by scholars in the field
historical context
definitions of key terms
vocabulary (keywords) for database searching
suggestions for further sources

Enciclopedia Dantesca
Online version of the encyclopedia published by the Istituto della Enciclopedia Italiana. In Italian
The Oxford Handbook of Dante by Manuele Gragnolati (Editor); Elena Lombardi (Editor); Francesca Southerden (Editor)
Call Number: Clapp PQ4334 .O94 2021
Publication Date: 2021
The Cambridge Companion to Dante (e-book) by Rachel Jacoff (Editor)
A fully updated new edition of this useful and accessible coursebook on Dante's works, context and reception history. Also available in print in Clapp PQ4335 .C36 2007
The Dante Encyclopedia (e-book) by Richard Lansing (Editor)
Entries on major characters and aspects of the Divine Comedy and includes many entries on other works, drawing from philosophy, theology, poetics, art, psychology, science, music, and critical perspectives from Dante's day to the present. Combines critical and factual information.
Medieval Italy: an encyclopedia by Christopher Kleinhenz (Editor)
Call Number: Clapp Reference DG443 .M43 2004
This encyclopedia gathers together the most recent scholarship on Medieval Italy, while offering a sweeping view of all aspects of life in Italy during the Middle Ages. This is a cross-disciplinary resource for information on literature, history, the arts, science, philosophy, and religion in Italy between A.D. 450 and 1375.
The Oxford Companion to Italian Literature (e-book)
Publication Date: 2002
Entries cover Italian literature from the early thirteenth century on. Contextual entries place writers and works in their wider social, historical, artistic, and political circumstances
A Medieval Woman's Companion: Women's Lives in the European Middle Ages (e-book) by Susan Signe Morrison
Publication Date: 2015
A Companion to the Medieval World (e-book)
Publication Date: 2013
Encyclopedia of Medieval Philosophy by Henrik Lagerlund (Editor)
Publication Date: 2010

Related Guides

MEDIEVAL AND RENAISSANCE STUDIES
by Sarah Moazeni Last Updated Feb 28, 2024 42 views this year