Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Research Guide for Writing 105 / English 120: Critical Interpretation. This guide aims to point you to some useful starting places for your research. Please feel free to contact me with questions or help with any aspect of the research process. I'm here to help!
Karen Storz, Research & Instruction Librarian
SuperSearch is a great place to start for journal articles, books and almost everything else the library has, in one easy to use interface.
For searching with more focus and precision, try one of the databases recommended on this guide.
Key Databases for Literary Criticism
Databases can contain a combination of full-text articles (ready to read online) and/or citation information about articles, book chapters, or books.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
This is the most comprehensive database for finding scholarly articles, books, and book chapters on literature and related fields, from the latest scholarship back to the 1880s. Use the "Find it! @Wellesley" link to get the full text. If we don't have it, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This database contains scholarly journal articles in many disciplines, including literature and history. For most journals, it does not contain articles from the most recent 3-5 years.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Biographies, bibliographies and full-text critical analysis of authors from all genres and eras, including the contents of Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Literary Criticism.
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
Literary criticism from over 400 journals, along with thousands of literary texts from 1600 to the present. Focused on literature in English. Includes the Cambridge Companions, a series of accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Academic journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Find Books in the Catalog
- Use synonyms and truncation to find the different ways your topic might be expressed—computers are very literal
- Combine multiple concepts using AND / OR for best results
sample topic: Cultural identity in the poetry of Li-Young Lee
(identity OR self) - synonyms
AND (cultur* OR ethnic* OR immigra* OR Asian American) - truncation
AND Li-Young Lee
Not finding enough, or found an item that's checked out?
Search WorldCat and request a copy.
Key Databases With Primary Source Materials
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
EEBO contains searchable and browsable page images of virtually every work printed in the English-speaking world from 1473 to 1700, as well as some items printed after 1700.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text page images of more than 460 British periodicals from 1681 to 1939, covering literature, philosophy, history, science, fine arts, and social sciences (British Periodicals Collections I-II)
For more about primary source materials and databases with primary source materials, visit these research guides:
Subjects: Africana Studies
, American Studies
, Cinema & Media Studies
, Cognitive & Linguistic Sciences
, Comparative Literature
, East Asian Languages & Cultures
, East Asian Studies
, German & German Cultural Studies
, Italian Studies
, Latin American Studies
, Russian & Russian Area Studies
Key Databases for Historical Research