Bitter Chocolate: The Dark Side Of The World's Most Seductive Sweet
by
Chocolate Nations: Living and Dying for Cocoa in West Africa
by
Cocoa
by
Crafting the Culture and History of French Chocolate
by
The Fair Trade Scandal: Marketing Poverty to Benefit the Rich
by
Luxury: A Rich History
by
Substance and Seduction: Ingested Commodities in Early Modern Mesoamerica
The databases listed here are just a selection of what are available to you through Wellesley. See our Databases list and browse by Subject (for example, Art or Music) to find other databases relevant to your research.
Peer reviewed articles and book reviews of world history (excluding the US and Canada), 1450 CE to present and searchable by historical time period.
Peer reviewed articles and book reviews of American and Canadian history, prehistory to present and searchable by historical time period.
Political science resources, including scholarly and peer reviewed journal articles and think tank reports. Covers international as well as U.S. topics and sources.
A collection of scholarly articles, dissertations, and working papers on sociology, political science, education, economics, anthropology, linguistics, and criminology, which can be searched together or individually.
Scholarly journal articles and books in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Does not include the most recent 3-5 years of many journals.
Full text newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic, minority and Native presses. Filter by ethnic group and language.
Dates: 1960 CE-Present
AfricaBib Search Tips:
The library catalog is another way to search for books, ebooks, and videos. Although SuperSearch includes the library catalog, searching the catalog separately gives you a smaller, more focused set of results. It often helps to keep a search in the catalog relatively simple to start.
Start with a keyword search. Once you find a book that's relevant to your topic, click on the title and look for the Subjects listed for that book to help you find "more like this" and explore related aspects of a broader topic.
Example: Keyword search: africa AND chocolate
Subject terms for the books that come up in this keyword search lead you to more books on various aspects of the topic, for example:
Chocolate industry > Great Britain > History
Clicking the first word or phrase in a subject string will show you everything listed under the broader topic (e.g., Cocoa trade). Clicking a subsequent word or phrase will take you to the narrower topic (e.g., clicking "Ghana" in Cocoa trade > Ghana will show you everything listed under that subtopic of "Ghana").
Once you find a useful subject term, you can also use it to browse related subtopics, by choosing "Browse Alphabetically by Topic" from the menu next to the search box, and entering the subject term.
Not finding enough, or found an item that's checked out? Search WorldCat and request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.
Don't know where to find a book in the Library? Check out this quick guide.
Can't find what you're looking for at Wellesley?
Use WorldCat Discovery to search and request directly from libraries worldwide via Interlibrary Loan.
Questions? Interlibrary Loan Guide
