Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why Use Reference Materials?
for a quick overview of a topic
to develop vocabulary or keywords for searching
for suggestions for further sources
General Reference Collections
Search 500+ reference works in all disciplines.
Oxford Reference Online
Fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Search across more than 100 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books.
Sage Knowledge Online
Search across more than 100 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works.
Reference Sources: Available Online
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
A comprehensive reference source covering all branches of science and engineering. Contains tables of data, physical and chemical properties, recommendations on nomenclature, and more.
Comprehensive Organic Name Reactions and Reagents
A valuable resource for conducting experiments which includes coverage of 701 organic name reactions and reagents.
March's Advanced Organic Chemistry: Reactions, Mechanisms, and Structure
March's Advanced Organic Chemistry clearly explains the theories and examples of organic chemistry, providing the most comprehensive resource about organic chemistry available. Readers are guided on planning and execution of multi-step synthetic reactions, with detailed descriptions of all the reactions.
Encyclopedia of Analytical Science 2nd ed
The Encyclopedia of Analytical Science is designed to provide a detailed and comprehensive publication covering all facets of the science and practice of analysis. This work includes comprehensive coverage of techniques used for the determination of specific elements, compounds and groups of compounds, in physical or biological matrices. It addresses applications of chemical analysis in all areas, ranging from such topics as medicine to environmental science, and geology to food science.
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary
Contains concise definitions and descriptive information for thousands of terms and phenomena in chemistry, biology, and biochemistry. Also includes entries on notable scientists, chemical reactions, and more.
A Dictionary of Chemistry, 8th edition
The Oxford University Press' Dictionary of Chemistry is a popular and authoritative guide to all aspects of its discipline. With over 5,000 entries, its broad coverage includes physical chemistry and biochemistry, and is heavily informed by the most current research.
New database released by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's Chemical Safety for Sustainability Research Program providing access to data on over 700,000 chemicals.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
Easy access to physical and chemical property data. Search directly by chemical species or indirectly by related data. Visit the NIST WebBook Guide for the Table of Contents and search help.
A Guide to the NIST Chemistry WebBook
The NIST Chemistry WebBook provides users with easy access to chemical and physical property data for chemical species through the internet. The data provided in the site are from collections maintained by the NIST Standard Reference Data Program and outside contributors. Data in the WebBook system are organized by chemical species. The WebBook system allows users to search for chemical species by various means. Once the desired species has been identified, the system will display data for the species.
Spotlight on The Merck Index!
The Merck Index by
Call Number: SCI REF RS51 .M4 2013
Publication Date: 2013
The Merck Index is regarded as the most authoritative and reliable source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. Especially useful for CHEM 212!
CAS Registry Numbers & Nomenclature