Library Research Guides: AMST 151: The Asian American Experience: Find Background & Context

Reference Databases

Specialized encyclopedias, handbooks, companions, and other reference works can be good starting places for getting an overview of a topic, definitions of key terms, vocabulary for searching, and suggestions for further reading.

Encyclopedia Articles & More
This is a subset of SuperSearch that searches several reference databases at once.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary research tool that allows you to search over 300 reference works simultaneously, including limiting to audio or visual materials.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 100 reference books in all disciplines published by Oxford University Press
Sage Knowledge Online This link opens in a new window
Search across more than 100 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works.
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies are research guides in a variety of subject areas. Combining features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this resource directs researchers to top scholarship across a wide variety of topics.

Selected Reference Works

The Routledge Handbook of Asian American Studies (e-book) by Cindy I-Fen Cheng (Editor)
Publication Date: 2016
Leading scholars cover a wide range of topics including U.S. imperialism and its impact on Asian Americans, the garment industry, globalization, political participation, queer and trans activisms, and more.
Keywords for Asian American Studies (e-book) by Cathy J. Schlund-Vials (Editor); K. Scott Wong (Editor); Linda Trinh Võ (Editor); Linda Trinh Võ (Editor)
Publication Date: 2015
Introduces key terms, research frameworks, debates, and histories for Asian American Studies.
Asian American History and Culture: An Encyclopedia (e-book)
Publication Date: 2010
Covers the political, social, and cultural history of immigrants from East Asia, Southeast Asia, South Asia, the Pacific Islands, and their descendants, as well as the social and cultural issues faced by Asian American communities, families, and individuals in contemporary society.
American History Unbound: Asians and Pacific Islanders (e-book) by Gary Y. Okihiro
Publication Date: 2015
A survey of U.S. history from its beginnings to the present through the lens of Asian American and Pacific Islander history.

AMST 151: The Asian American Experience

Related Guides

YOUR LIBRARIAN

Reference Databases

Selected Reference Works