Collections from 26 archives, libraries and museums exploring the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia, across two centuries of mass migration.
Manuscript sources, rare printed texts, visual images, objects and maps connected to the trading and cultural relationships that emerged between China, America and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries.
Interviews (most from 1989) of garment workers who came to New York City from Vietnam, China, the Philippines, and California. Topics covered include emigration to the United States, working conditions, unions, major strikes, and effects of globalization. From NYU's Tamiment Library
13 interviews that document the individual stories and contributions of members of this New York-based nonprofit. Formed in 1978, this feminist organization sought to support, educate and empower Asian-American women.
A gateway to digital collections from California's great libraries, archives, and museums. Collection strengths include California history, Chinese immigration, and the 19th century. Some primary sources are organized into exhibitions, e.g., California Cultures: Asian Americans
"The Densho Archives contain primary sources that document the Japanese American experience from immigration in the early 1900s through redress in the 1980s, with a strong focus on the World War II mass incarceration... Our digital archive includes thousands of historic photographs, documents, newspapers, letters, and more. It is also home to more than 900 visual histories, comprised of over 1,700 hours of recorded, fully transcribed video interviews."
This collection of primary documents and stories by Chinese American includes letters, speeches, testimonies, oral histories, personal memoirs, poems, essays, and folksongs, providing insight into immigration, work, family and social life, and the fight for equality and inclusion.