Skip to Main Content

Wellesley College Research Guides

Wellesley Home | Library & Technology Services | Research Guides

HIST 340: Seeing Black: African Americans & US Visual Culture: News Media & Ads

Spotlight on...

detail from sheet music, 1904.

American Memory, our national digital library packed with photos and texts of all kinds -- huge collection of African American history.

Film Websites

For film studies researchers

Moving Image Source - Articles, research guides, and interviews with directors from the Museum of the Moving Image
Bibliographies on films, film topics and genres, filmmakers, and national cinemas - from UC-Berkeley

Online film archives

Moving Image Archive
Prelinger Archives - 60,000 "ephemeral" (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films

Film & TV scripts

Newspapers & Magazines

African American Media

Ethnic NewsWatch
1960-present, including African American press

New York Amsterdam News, 1922-1993
Ebony Online
65 years of Ebony Magazine, digitized free online. Also Jet from 1951 to present, with more to come. Thank you Google!
AFRO Archives
search the The Afro-American, the National Afro-American Ledger, the Baltimore Afro-American, and the Washington Afro-American, covering 1902-2003 in total.
Civil Rights in America - 1960s Newspapers
Mainstream Media

Nexis Uni
Legal, business, and news sources. Includes law journal articles, legislation, regulations, court cases, company information, SEC filings, U.S. and foreign newspapers, and more.
Westlaw Campus Research
Legal resources, many of which are full text. Includes law review articles, legislation, legal analysis, statutes, regulations, court cases, court filings and documents, news, and more.

New York Times Historical
1851-2012; more recent coverage in Nexis Uni news sources
Los Angeles Times Historical
1881-1992; more recent coverage in ProQuest Newsstand
Chicago Tribune Historical
1849-1987
Chronicling America
select historic American newspapers 1880-1922 - & find information about American newspapers 1690-present

Images in Advertising

Adland.com's Commercial Archive
Our guide to finding Images
Advertising and Consumer Culture Digital Collection - Duke University
- scroll down page to get to this collection
- includes Ad*Access (print ads, 1911-1955) and adViews (TV commercials 1950s-1980s) and much more!

Last Updated: Jan 27, 2025 9:35 AM
URL: https://libguides.wellesley.edu/hist340
Print Page

Subjects: Africana Studies, History

Tags: advertising, african american, blacks, cinema, films, marketing, media, movies, television, visual culture