Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The media sources on this page are suitable for use in your academic and personal projects because they are either in the public domain or are licensed for use under Creative Commons.
offers over 20 million digital images from Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections -- all of which are in the public domain.
This overview explains why and how you can find images to use in course & personal projects.
Want to use these images in a presentation, on a blog, or sharing on Tumblr, Twitter, or other social media?
Here are some sites where you can download sound & music files.
A directory of resources for soundscape recordings and for public domain sound files ( look under "sounds")
ccMixter is a community music site featuring remixes licensed under Creative Commons where you can listen to, sample, mash-up, or interact with music in whatever way you want.
Free Music Archive
an interactive library of high-quality, legal audio downloads. Conditions of use vary and are determined by the rightsholders themselves (see their FAQ
Legal Music for Videos
The Creative Commons site maintains a list of links to sites offering music licensed under CC.
All the music on jamendo is available under one of the six Creative Commons licenses. They authorize free download and enable the artists to promote their music while protecting their rights.
Internet Archive: Moving Image Archive
This library contains thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
after your initial search, click on the link to filter your results, then click "creative commons" under Features.