Library Research Guides: BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES: Find Articles

Key Databases

Web of Science
Interdisciplinary subject searching of scholarly articles in the social sciences (1898-present) physical & life sciences (1899 to present), and arts & humanities (1975 to present). Search for articles that cite known journal articles or books

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Scholarly article citations and records in all fields of life sciences, medicine, public health, and plant and animal science. Free National Library of Medicine search page.
Science Database This link opens in a new window
Articles, magazines, resports, books, and news in all fields of science, many with full text.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly articles in all disciplines.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles in all disciplines.

Macaulay Media Library
The Cornell Lab of Ornithology's Macaulay Library is the world’s premier scientific archive of natural history audio, video, and photographs. Although the Macaulay Library’s history is rooted in birds, the collection includes amphibians, fishes, and mammals, and the collection preserves recordings of each species’ behavior and natural history.

General Search Tips

Boolean Operators

AND - combines search terms so that each search result contains all of the terms. For example, education AND technology finds articles that contain both terms.
OR - combines search terms so that each search result contains at least one of the terms. For example, education OR technology finds results that contain either term.
NOT - excludes terms so that each search result does not contain any of the terms that follow it. For example, education NOT technology finds results that contain the term education but not the term technology.

Truncation

In many catalogs and databases, truncation is represented by an asterisk (*). To use truncation, enter the root of a search term and replace the ending with an *.

For example, type comput* to find the words compute, computes, computer, computing, computation, etc..

Types of Articles

Scholarly Journals	Magazines	Trade Publications	Newspapers
Report thorough description of original research or theories. Generally scrutinized by a panel of subject experts (peer review) before publishing.	Provide information, news, opinions, entertainment to the general public on a broad array of topics.	Provide practical information for members of a profession, industry, or organization: news, trends, products, and research summaries.	Cover breaking news, news analysis, and feature stories.

Scholarly Journals

Magazines

Trade Publications

Newspapers

Report thorough description of original research or theories. Generally scrutinized by a panel of subject experts (peer review) before publishing.

Provide information, news, opinions, entertainment to the general public on a broad array of topics.

Provide practical information for members of a profession, industry, or organization: news, trends, products, and research summaries.

Cover breaking news, news analysis, and feature stories.

Browse Top Ranked Journals: Biological Sciences

These are some quick links to top-ranked journals, which are not meant to represent our entire collection. Check the catalog for more journals and additional coverage.

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Overview of the primary research literature each year, in topics within biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences.

Science Research in the News

Here are some links to popular news articles in the sciences.