Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why Use Reference Materials?
for a quick overview of a topic
to develop vocabulary or keywords for searching
for suggestions for further sources
General Reference Collections
Search 500+ reference works in all disciplines.
Oxford Reference Online
Fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Search across more than 100 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books.
Sage Knowledge Online
Search across more than 100 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works.
AAS: News about Women
This feed aggregates news from the American Astronomical Society about women.
ARIBIB: Astronomisches Rechen-Institut BIBliographical Database for Astronomical References
Library of Congress: Selected Astronomy Resources
An incredibly rich round up of news & events, references on planets & planetary systems, near earth objects, extrasolar systems, search for extraterrestrial intelligence, data libraries, observatories, organizations, journals, and other educational resources.
Mars Exploration Program
A site dedicated to all that we know about Mars from the Mars Exploration Program.
The independent space agency of the United States with a vision to discover and expand knowledge for the benefit of humanity, this website is a resource for space news, career information, and networking.
Founded in 1999, SpaceRef is a new media company focused on the space sector. The company maintains four online presences including, SpaceRef, SpaceRef Business, NASA Watch, and the Astrobiology Web.
Reference Sources: Available Online
Reference Sources: In Print
The Unified Astronomy Thesaurus (UAT) is an open, interoperable and community-supported thesaurus which unifies the existing divergent and isolated Astronomy & Astrophysics thesauri into a single high-quality, freely-available open thesaurus formalizing astronomical concepts and their inter-relationships. The UAT builds upon the existing IAU Thesaurus with major contributions from the Astronomy portions of the thesauri developed by the Institute of Physics Publishing and the American Institute of Physics. We expect that the Unified Astronomy Thesaurus will be further enhanced and updated through a collaborative effort involving broad community participation.
Online (Visual) Resources: Astronomy
Understanding the Universe
This visual encyclopedia includes videos, images, and animations about the structure of the universe, astronomical observation, and space exploration.
Philip's Atlas of the Universe
Contains images from the Hubble Space Telescope, tables of astronomical data, and 22 star maps.
Using Google Maps this tool provides an exciting way to browse and explore the universe. You can find the positions of the planets and constellations on the sky and even watching the birth of distant galaxies as seen by the Hubble Space Telescope.
You also have the ability to view the universe at different wavelengths, to see how it would look if our eyes worked in the x-rays or infrared. As you explore these new layers, play with the transparency to blend between the different wavelengths and see how different parts of the universe light up at different wavelengths.