Library Research Guides: ASTRONOMY: Find Articles

Key Databases

Astrophysics Data System This link opens in a new window
Collection of article abstracts in astronomy and physics, many linked to the full-text of articles, and may not be the version published in journals.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that has good coverage of astronomy articles.

CERN Document Server
Find full-text for articles, reports, standards, pre-pints, photos, videos, theses and more.
The Linda Hall Library
The world's foremost independent research library for science, engineering, and technology.

arXiv This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of articles, in Physical Sciences, Math, CS, and Economics. Many of these articles are not peer-reviewed and may not be the version published in journals.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Overview of the primary research literature each year, in topics within biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles in all disciplines.

NED: NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database
Find data for millions of objects outside the Milky Way galaxy
Astronomy Thesis Collection
Find dissertations and theses is Astronomy and Astrophysics. Upload to this repository to provide open access to the free full-text of your dissertation or thesis.

General Search Tips

Boolean Operators

AND - combines search terms so that each search result contains all of the terms. For example, education AND technology finds articles that contain both terms.
OR - combines search terms so that each search result contains at least one of the terms. For example, education OR technology finds results that contain either term.
NOT - excludes terms so that each search result does not contain any of the terms that follow it. For example, education NOT technology finds results that contain the term education but not the term technology.

Truncation

In many catalogs and databases, truncation is represented by an asterisk (*). To use truncation, enter the root of a search term and replace the ending with an *.

For example, type comput* to find the words compute, computes, computer, computing, computation, etc..

Types of Articles

Scholarly Journals	Magazines	Trade Publications	Newspapers
Report thorough description of original research or theories. Generally scrutinized by a panel of subject experts (peer review) before publishing.	Provide information, news, opinions, entertainment to the general public on a broad array of topics.	Provide practical information for members of a profession, industry, or organization: news, trends, products, and research summaries.	Cover breaking news, news analysis, and feature stories.

Scholarly Journals

Magazines

Trade Publications

Newspapers

Report thorough description of original research or theories. Generally scrutinized by a panel of subject experts (peer review) before publishing.

Provide information, news, opinions, entertainment to the general public on a broad array of topics.

Provide practical information for members of a profession, industry, or organization: news, trends, products, and research summaries.

Cover breaking news, news analysis, and feature stories.

Browse Top Ranked Journals: Astronomy & Astrophysics

These are some quick links to top-ranked journals, which are not meant to represent our entire collection. Check the catalog for more journals and additional coverage.

Borrowing from Elsewhere

Can't find what you're looking for at Wellesley?

Use WorldCat Discovery to search and request directly from libraries worldwide via Interlibrary Loan.

Questions? Interlibrary Loan Guide

Science Research in the News

Here are some links to popular news articles in the sciences.