Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Archives Finding Tool
"ArchiveGrid connects you with primary source material held in archives, special collections, and manuscript collections around the world. You will find historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. ArchiveGrid also helps researchers contact archives to request information, arrange a visit, and order copies."
Note: much of this material is not digitized and not available online; this tool helps to identify material and where it is located.
Smarthistory at Khan Academy is the leading open educational resource for art history. A multimedia, well-organized web-book about art and art history.
Islamic Art Research Guides
Art Sales and Auction Data
International Foundation of Art Research (IFAR) Provenance Guide
IFAR, a longtime leader in the field of provenance research, has developed a Provenance Guide as a primer on conducting such research. Significantly, it includes links to important archives, image databases, dealer and sales records, and other references, and it is made available to all free-of-charge.
The Getty Provenance Index
The Getty Provenance Research website provides several databases for the study of the ownership of works of art with an emphasis on works of art produced in Western Europe from the 16th- to the early-20th century
Freely available Art and Architecture Resources
Below are fantastic free web resources from well-respected art institutions and other authoritative sources. If what you need for your research is an article from a journal, use one of our DATABASES.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History at the Metropolitan Museum of Art
Timelines, thematic essays, world maps, images, subject/artist index.
Union List of Artists' Names (Getty Research Institute)
Authority file of over 200,000 artists' names developed by a variety of bibliographic authorities.
Smithsonian's Archives of American Art
The largest and most widely used resource dedicated to collecting and preserving the papers and primary records of the visual arts in America.
Contemporary Artists Index
Developed by the Cleveland Institute of Art, this is an index of over 40,000 artists, artists groups, photographers, craftspeople, designers, and design firms whose work appears in group exhibition catalogs since 1991. The Index provides access to information about artists and designers beyond what is usually found in catalog records or accessible through art databases.
The digital presence of the Bibliothèque Nationale Francais. It contains millions of digitized newspapers, magazines, images, and sound recordings relating to France and French history and culture.
Asia Art Archive
The Asia Art Archive has one of the most comprehensive collections of primary and secondary source material on contemporary Asian art.
The ICAA 'Documents of 20th-century Latin American and Latino Art' digital archive
The International Center for the Arts of the Americas (ICAA), located at the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, has undertaken a multiyear project to recover and publish primary-source materials tracing the development of twentieth-century art in Latin America and among Latino populations in the United States. Browse or search the site for digitized documents.
Building Technology Heritage Library
The BTHL is primarily a collection of American and Canadian, pre-1964 architectural trade catalogs, house plan books and technical building guides. Trade catalogs are an important primary source to document past design and construction practices. These materials can aid in the preservation and conservation of older structures as well as other research goals.
Mother of All Art History Link Pages (University of Michigan)
An excellent student guide to the Web with many academic, institutional, and resource links.