Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Archive's Text Archive
Offers over 15,000,000 freely downloadable books and texts
The Internet Archive is a 501(c)(3) non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes includes offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format. Includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages in its collections.
Try the archive's site OpenLibrary for an interface to the published books on archive.org and links to other online book collections.
Getty Research Portal
The Getty Research Portal is an online search platform providing global access to digitized art history texts in the public domain. Through this multilingual, multicultural union catalog, scholars can search and download complete digital copies of publications (including rare books, foundational literatures, and periodicals) for the study of art, architecture, material culture, and related fields.
Search the Library Catalog
Library Catalog Search Tips
Try a keyword search. Once you find a book that is relevant to your topic, use the subject headings of that book to help you find "more like this".
Not finding enough, or an item checked out? Try borrowing from elsewhere.
Visual Arts ebook collections
A&AePortal (Art & Architecture ePortal)
Online collection of key backlist and out-of-print scholarly works in the fields of art and architectural history from Yale University Press, Art Institute of Chicago, MIT Press, Yale University Art Gallery, Harvard University Press, Harvard Art Museum and more. The portal allows the user to browse all images (by artist, title, or date).
Metropolitan Museum of Art Publications
MetPublications is a portal to The Met’s comprehensive publishing program with over 1,500 titles, including books, online publications, and 'Bulletins' and 'Journals' from the last five decades.
Getty Publications Virtual Library
More than 300 Getty publications to download and read for free.
Getty Research Portal
Free search platform providing worldwide access to an extensive collection of digitized art history texts from a range of institutions. This multilingual and multicultural union catalog affords art historians and other researchers the ability to search and download complete digital copies of publications devoted to art, architecture, material culture, and related fields.
Guggenheim ebook collection
205 openly available ebooks published by the Guggenheim (provided by the Internet Archive)
Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) exhibition history
Exhibitions from MoMA's founding in 1929 to the present are available online. Includes full-text exhibition catalogs with images.
Internet Archive Open Library - Art
A free digital library with over 45,000 art titles.
Canadian Art Online Book Project
Founded in 2013, the Canadian Online Art Book Project is a growing digital library of books–all original works commissioned by the Art Canada Institute–by the country’s leading art experts on artists who have made a critical contribution to the evolution of the nation’s art history.
Tips for Locating Exhibition Catalogs
To find exhibition catalogs held by the Wellesley College Library, perform a keyword search that includes exhibition* (the truncation symbol * will search for both the descriptive word 'exhibition' and the subject word 'exhibitions').
exhibition* africa* museum fine arts boston
Almost every bibliographic record for an exhibition catalog includes the subject word Exhibitions.
Rothko, Mark, 1903-1970 -- Exhibitions
Bauhaus -- Exhibitions
Museum of Modern Art (New York, N.Y.) -- Exhibitions
Prints -- 20th century -- Exhibitions
The book/catalog vendor Worldwide Books : Exhibition Catalogues and Art Books has a searchable website for exhibition catalogs. This can be a helpful place to search for obscure exhibition catalogs (although most of them should be catalogued in WorldCat). The Getty Research Library's catalog is another helpful resource as well.