Library Research Guides: AFRICANA STUDIES: Find Articles & Reports

Databases with Scholarly Articles

For searching with precision inside a particular subject area, try one of our databases.

These databases contain a combination of full text articles and citation information about articles, book chapters, or books that link to the full-text.

The Americas

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
Full text of more than 170 wide-ranging publications by and about African Americans, including academic journals, magazines, newsletters, reports, and other genres.
Dates: 1825-1997 CE

JSTOR African American Studies Journals

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
best source for articles on American & Canadian history, searchable by time period
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
world history including Africa and the Caribbean, searchable by time period

Africa

African Studies Centre
Database of abstracts of books and articles on all aspects of Africa in the social sciences, from the Netherlands-based research center.
African Journals Online (AJOL)
The world's largest and pre-eminent collection of peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
world history including Africa and the Caribbean, searchable by time period

JSTOR African Studies Journals
AfricaBib.org
Contains the Africana Periodical Literature Database, African Women Bibliographic Database, and links to several other very useful indexes. Good bibliography of articles on Africa, use with SuperSearch to get the full text of articles listed here.
more...less...
See the AfricaBib Search Tips to get the most out of this resource.

Broader Databases with Some Africana Content

Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed articles on women's and gender studies, drawing on gender studies, education, sociology, history, and more.
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed articles and books on Islamic theology, law, and history.
Politics Collection This link opens in a new window
Political science resources, including scholarly and peer reviewed journal articles and think tank reports. Covers international as well as U.S. topics and sources.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic, minority and Native presses. Filter by ethnic group and language.
Dates: 1960 CE-Present

Go to the Library's Databases A-Z list and use the Subjects menu to find other databases relevant to your topic.

Reports & Working Papers

World Bank FOCUS: Sub-Saharan Africa
Research from the World Bank dealing with key aspects of development in Sub-Saharan Africa.

AfricaBib Search Tips

Click "AfricaBib: all records, and more," and then "To search the database click here" to search across all content.
Use the Extended search form to see all the searchable fields. Use the "Whole record" field to search for your keywords in all the available fields.
All searches in Africabib are additive, i.e., AND is implied between all the terms you enter.
- For example, if you enter botswana gender women, it searches for botswana AND gender AND women, which means each result has to have all of those words in it.