Black Europe and the African Diaspora by 
Contesting Race and Citizenship: Youth Politics in the Black Mediterranean by 
The Roots of Racism: The Politics of White Supremacy in the US and Europe by The databases listed here are just a selection of what is available through Wellesley. See our Databases list and browse by Subject or Database Type to find other databases relevant to your research.
Political science resources, including scholarly and peer reviewed journal articles and think tank reports. Covers international as well as U.S. topics and sources.
Peer reviewed articles and book reviews of world history (excluding the US and Canada), 1450 CE to present and searchable by historical time period.
AfricaBib can be challenging to search well. See AfricaBib Search Tips to get the most out of this resource.
Full text newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic, minority and Native presses. Filter by ethnic group and language.
Dates: 1960 CE-Present
Scholarly journal articles and books in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Does not include the most recent 3-5 years of many journals.
Note: The last 3-5 years of articles are not available for many journals on JSTOR. Be sure to supplement your JSTOR searches with searches in other databases appropriate to your specific topic.
Full-text scholarly articles in all disciplines.
Full-text peer-reviewed articles on gender, sex, and sexuality in history, sociology, psychology, education, art, and more.
Peer reviewed articles on women's and gender studies, drawing on gender studies, education, sociology, history, and more.
The library catalog is another way to search for books, ebooks, and videos on a topic. Although SuperSearch includes the library catalog, searching the catalog separately can give you a smaller, more focused set of results. Keep a catalog search relatively simple to start and use what you find to find more.
Start with a keyword search. Once you find a book that's relevant to your topic, click on the title and look for the Subjects listed for that book to help you find "more like this" and explore related aspects of a broader topic.
Example: Keyword search: europe AND race AND immigration
Subject terms for the books that come up in this keyword search lead you to more books on various aspects of the topic, for example:
Europe, Western > Emigration and immigration > Political aspects
Immigrants > Political activity > Europe, Western
Clicking the first word or phrase above will show you books about the broader topic (e.g., Racism). Clicking a subsequent word or phrase will take you to the narrower topic (e.g., clicking "Europe" in Racism > Europe will show you everything under that subtopic of "Racism").
Important Note during the Clapp renovation: If an item is in off-site storage or checked out, use the "Request from another library (InterLibrary Loan)" link to request it. See more information below!
[Back to Top]
InterLibrary Loan (ILL) services will continue to be available for print books, ebooks, chapters, and articles. If you only need a chapter or two from a book, place a book chapter request and we'll try to get them electronically. Requesting an item through ILL will be more efficient than recalling an item from storage; however, if we are unable to locate an item through ILL, we will pursue other means.
Where do I pick up & return my ILL requests during the renovation?
Pickups: Modulars, Room 103
Returns: Modulars, Room 103, Blue Library Book Drop outside the Modulars or the Art or Music Libraries
How do I Make Requests?
For Loan requests, search the Library Catalog, WorldCat, or SuperSearch and look for one of the following links to place your ILL request. If we already own an item, but it is in off-site storage or checked out, you can still select “Request from another library (InterLibrary Loan)”.
Renovation Website
Can't find what you're looking for at Wellesley?
Use WorldCat Discovery to search and request directly from libraries worldwide via Interlibrary Loan.
Questions? Interlibrary Loan Guide