These databases contain a variety of specialized encyclopedias, handbooks, biographical sources, bibliographies, and other reference works. They can be good starting places for getting overviews of a topic, biographical information, definitions of key terms, vocabulary for searching, and suggestions for further reading.
Thousands of articles by scholars focused on the lives and events that have shaped African American and African history and culture, along with primary source documents, encyclopedias, and biographies.
Annotated bibliographies for a variety of subject areas.
Authoritative biographies of historically significant figures and present-day newsmakers from every field—media, sports, politics, religion, medicine, and more. Find biographies by name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, or gender.
Dates: 3000 BCE-Present
Hundreds of full-text academic encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other sources for introductions to topics, definitions, or factual information. Includes subject-specific titles from art, literature, education, science, religion, history and more.
Search across full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books in a variety of subject areas.
Search across more than 100 full text encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works in the social and behavioral sciences.
Encyclopedia of the Black Arts Movement by 
Historical Dictionary of African American Theater
The Cambridge Companion to African American Women's Literature
Black Women of the Harlem Renaissance Era (e-book)
Routledge Handbook of Pan-Africanism
Encyclopedia of Black Studies by 
The History of Black Studies by 
An Introduction to Black Studies by 
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History (e-book)
Encyclopedia of the African Diaspora (e-book)