Library Research Guides: WRIT 157: Europe in Hollywood: Find News & Reviews

Film Industry Publications & Fan Magazines

Media History Digital Library
Digitized collections of historic books and magazines about film, broadcasting, and recorded sound. Includes fan magazines and industry publications. Browse the collections or use the Lantern search platform to search some or all of the collections.
more...less...
Includes Variety 1905-1954

Find Historical Reviews & News

You will also find some news and reviews in the databases on the Find Scholarly Sources page of this guide.

Search tips:

You can use the publication date filter to limit to the time a film premiered or a book was published, or to find other news and perspectives from a particular historical period.
Some of these databases have a Document type filter that allows you to limit to Reviews. The Reviews filters can sometimes exclude a lot of reviews, particularly for older films. Try simply using the Publication Date filter to find articles from the time of the film's premiere, and further limit to newspaper and magazine articles. Usually many of these will be reviews.

Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)
Full-text historical news articles in major American and British newspapers, including the New York Times, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post and more.
Dates: 1791-2003
Los Angeles Times, 1881-2000
Full-text newspaper, including articles, images, and ads.
Global Newsstream
News from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia, many in full text. Mostly in English, with a variety of other languages including Spanish, French, Portuguese, and German.
Dates: 1980 CE-Present

Note: The "Document type: Review" does not work well in this database for some older films, though it tends to work better for more recent ones. If you're not finding reviews, try using the publication date filter only.

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Scholarly and popular articles and book chapters on film and television history, theory, writing, production, cinematography, reviews, and more. Includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to the present.

The New Yorker Magazine
Search the archives back to 1925. Click the magnifying glass, choose the Archive button, and do your search. Then you can use the date filter to narrow your search.

Nation Archive
A progressive, national weekly journal covering U.S. foreign affairs, local and national politics, education, law, literature, and the arts, from 1865 to present.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
Full-text of 282 Black American newspapers.
Women's Magazine Archive, 1883-2005
Full text of six leading women's magazines focused on social issues, women's health, family and the home, politics, and fashion.
Vogue Archive
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.
Dates: 1892-Present