Library Research Guides: WRIT 144: What's in a Name?: News Sources

Newspaper Databases

Browse the list of newspaper databases below or use one of the links on this page.

US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
One of the largest full text collections of newspapers from the United States, as well as news sites, blogs, and newswires. Includes The Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal.
Dates: 1985 CE-Present
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
News from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia, many in full text. Mostly in English, with a variety of other languages including Spanish, French, Portuguese, and German.
Dates: 1980 CE-Present

ProQuest International Newsstream
Search more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Legal, business, and news sources. Includes law journal articles, legislation, regulations, court cases, company information, SEC filings, U.S. and foreign newspapers, and more.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Current issues (mostly the past 45 days) of magazines and newspapers in their original color print layout in more than 60 languages, from over 150 countries. In addition to news, special interest magazines address topics including fashion, music, art, entertainment, food, family, technology, and more.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic, minority and Native presses. Filter by ethnic group and language.
Dates: 1960 CE-Present
Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspaper, magazine, and scholarly journal articles from alternative, radical, and independent presses, mostly in the United States.
Dates: 1967 CE-Present
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Legal resources, many of which are full text. Includes law review articles, legislation, legal analysis, statutes, regulations, court cases, court filings and documents, news, and more.

New York Times, 1980-present This link opens in a new window
Current news and editorial content from NY Times newspaper in text-only format.
Dates: 1980 CE-Present
Boston Globe, 1980-present This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspaper articles. Does not include images or ads.
Dates: 1980 CE - Present
Los Angeles Times, 1996-present This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspaper articles. Does not include images or ads.
Dates: 1996 CE-Present
Wall Street Journal 1984-present This link opens in a new window
Full-text news articles with a focus on business, finance, and economics. Note that articles are text only and do not contain images.
Dates: 1984 CE-Present

BBC Monitoring: International Reports
Foreign news broadcasts in translation, 1979-present.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) This link opens in a new window
Broadcasts, news agency transmissions, and government statements from around the globe translated into English, with a focus on Cold War issues and communist states.
Dates: 1941-1996 CE
Current Digest of the Russian Press This link opens in a new window
A full-text primary source archive consisting of English translations of important Russian newspaper and magazine articles. Updated weekly.
Dates: 1949 CE-Present