Specialized encyclopedias, handbooks, companions, and other reference sources can be great places to explore a topic. They can summarize knowledge around a topic, synthesize scholarly discussions, define key concepts, and help you find keywords for further searches. They often include bibliographies as well, making them a good resource for identifying key books and articles on a topic. Try searching for a topic in one of the following databases to search multiple reference sources at once.
Hundreds of full-text academic encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other sources for introductions to topics, definitions, or factual information. Includes subject-specific titles from art, literature, education, science, religion, history and more.
Search across full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books in a variety of subject areas.
Annotated bibliographies for a variety of subject areas.
Over 400 full-text academic encyclopedias, language dictionaries, books of quotations, and other sources. Includes subject-specific titles from art, classics, history, law, linguistics, literature, media studies, medicine, performing arts, philosophy, religion, science and technology, politics, and more.
Search across more than 100 full text encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works in the social and behavioral sciences.
Art and Science in Word and Image
Art and Science in Word and Image investigates the theme of 'riddles of form', exploring how discovery and innovation have functioned inter-dependently between art, literature and the sciences.
Artificial Culture: identity, technology and bodies
Artificial Culture is an examination of the articulation, construction, and representation of "the artificial" in contemporary popular cultural texts, especially science fiction films and novels.
Being Modern: the cultural impact of science in the early twentieth century
Being Modern explores engagement with science across culture from the end of the nineteenth century to approximately 1940
Controversies in Science and Technology
When it comes to any current scientific debate, there are more than two sides to every story.
Cultures Without Culturalism: the making of scientific knowledge
Cultural accounts of scientific ideas and practices have increasingly come to be welcomed as a corrective to previous--and still widely held--theories of scientific knowledge and practices as universal.