Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference sources (like encyclopedias and dictionaries, including Wikipedia) are a great source for background or contextual information on a topic. These reference sources provide scholarly background information on folk tales specifically:
The Oxford Companion to Fairy Tales
This Companion is an authoritative reference source for the complex and captivating genre of the fairy tale. The Companion also examines related topics such as Disney, film, opera, science fiction, music, even advertising.
Encyclopedia of Folklore and Literature by
This work is an award winning compendium of authors, concepts, motifs, characters, themes, works, and movements associated with folklore and literature from around the world.
Welcome to the library research guide for WGST 102. If you need help identifying sources, citing them, or anything else, feel free to make an appointment to chat with one of us! If none of the times you can find work for you, email Sarah or Laura.
Scholarly articles about folktales
Origin stories: Who is asking and answering the types of questions I am exploring for this short paper assignment?
If you're interested in seeing what literature or film scholars have to say about Disney films (or about your chosen film in particular), you might want to search in a literature or film database like these.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
With a focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas, this collection gathers historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community, and changes in gender roles, including articles dating back as far as the 1970s.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Index to publications on literature, linguistics, film, and folklore, from all cultures, 1963 to present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations.
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
U.S. and Canadian history and culture articles, prehistory to present, written from 1955 to present.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Articles on world history from 1450, excluding US & Canada, written since 1955. Can be co-searched with America: History & Life
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Articles on film and television theory, writing, production, cinematography, reviews, and more, 1914 to present
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in the fields of communications, mass media, journalism, television, radio, newspaper publishing, speech, broadcasting, communication theory, and advertising, with full text for over 500 journals.
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new window
An index to articles on film and TV from 300 academic and popular film journals, including full text from the most important journals, from 1972 to present.
Check out other research guides
The sources on this page are just a starting point! You can also explore other subject-specific article databases and reference sources by visiting the Wellesley Library research guides for subjects like literature, cinema and media studies, and anthropology.