Library Research Guides: SOCIOLOGY: Find Articles & News

Key Databases for Scholarly Articles

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and peer reviewed articles in sociology.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, cross-disciplinary database. Excellent for tracking journal citations.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in the fields of communications, mass media, journalism, television, radio, newspaper publishing, speech, broadcasting, communication theory, and advertising, with full text for over 500 journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Collection of key scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences & natural sciences, starting from the first issue but not the latest 3-5 years.

Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
News from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia, many in full text. Mostly in English, with a variety of other languages including Spanish, French, Portuguese, and German.
Dates: 1980 CE-Present
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
One of the largest full text collections of newspapers from the United States, as well as news sites, blogs, and newswires. Includes The Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal.
Dates: 1985 CE-Present
Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspaper, magazine, and scholarly journal articles from alternative, radical, and independent presses, mostly in the United States.
Dates: 1967 CE-Present
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic, minority and Native presses. Filter by ethnic group and language.
Dates: 1960 CE-Present
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Legal, business, and news sources. Includes law journal articles, legislation, regulations, court cases, company information, SEC filings, U.S. and foreign newspapers, and more.