Library Research Guides: SOC 308: Children in Society: Home

Welcome!

This guide provides some useful starting places and strategies for doing research for this course.

We are happy to consult with you on any aspect of your research, from developing a research question to finding, evaluating, and citing sources. Email Daria Hafner or Sarah Moazeni with any questions.

Browse for Topic Ideas - Encyclopedias

SAGE Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood Studies by Daniel Thomas Cook
Call Number: Electronic Resource
ISBN: 9781529721829
Publication Date: 2020
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood Studies navigates our understanding of the historical, political, social and cultural dimensions of childhood.

Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Annotated bibliographies for a variety of subject areas.

Find Scholarly Articles and Book

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Articles on all aspects of sociology, 1952 to present.
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed articles and reports in education policy, teaching, and history. Filter by student level or grade.
Education Database This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly peer reviewed articles on education published from 1988 to present. Strong in the theoretical and sociological aspects of education as well as pedagogy.

Find Data

National Center for Education Statistics
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations.
Child Trends
Child Trends is the nation’s leading nonprofit research organization focused exclusively on improving the lives and prospects of children, youth, and their families.
DoE Laws and Guidance
Legislation, regulations, guidance, and other policy documents can be found here for the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA), and other topics.

Find Popular Sources

Contexts
A quarterly magazine that makes cutting-edge social research accessible to general readers.

OpinionArchives This link opens in a new window
Full text archives of many U.S. magazines focused on commentary and reviews of news, politics, culture, and the arts. Magazines include The New Yorker, Harper's, Commentary, Commonweal, Dissent, Moment, and the New York Review of Books from their first issue to their most recent.
Dates: 1850 CE-Present
New York Times, 1980-present This link opens in a new window
Current news and editorial content from NY Times newspaper in text-only format.
Dates: 1980 CE-Present
Boston Globe, 1980-present This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspaper articles. Does not include images or ads.
Dates: 1980 CE - Present

Citation Help and Research Organization

Automatically senses content in your web browser, allowing you to add it to your personal library with a single click.
Collect all your research in a single, searchable interface.
Organize your research by sorting items into collections or tagging them with keywords.
Create footnotes, endnotes, in-text citations, or bibliographies.
Automatically synchronize your data across devices.

Zotero is available for Mac, Windows, Linux, and iOS.

Image and text source: Zotero home page.

SOC 308: Children in Society

SOC Librarian

EDUC Librarian