Library Research Guides: ITAS / PEAC 210: Queer Italy: Websites & Primary Sources

Selected Websites

gender/sexuality/italy
An online annual, peer-reviewed journal that publishes research on gendered identities and the ways they intersect with and produce Italian politics, culture, and society.
Archivio Queer Italia (AQI)
"Archivio Queer Italia (AQI) is a virtual and real platform for queer artistic, theoretical and political practices specific to Italian culture and society, in Italy and abroad."
Queer Italia Network
"Our main aim is to build an international network of scholars, activists, cultural practitioners, and artists who engage meaningfully with queer sexualities, cultures, scholarship, and politics in Italy, and establish dialogues and collaborations between academics and those working outside of academia." Last updated in 2018.
Research Center PoliTeSse: Politics and Theories of Sexuality
Based at the University of Verona
LGBTI Survey Data Explorer
Explore data from a 2019 survey of EU member and candidate states. Covers a wide range of issues, including experiences with discrimination, harassment or violence, rights awareness, openness about being LGBTI, positive and negative experiences at work and in education, socio-economic and living conditions, health and well-being, and housing issues.
ArchiviST* – Archivi Storia Trans
Digital Transgender Archive (DTA)
Provides an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world related to transgender history. Based at Northeastern University, the DTA is an international collaboration among more than sixty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, public libraries, and private collections.

Gender: Identity and Social Change

Primary sources documenting representations and experiences of gender roles and relations, including pamphlets, speeches, newsletters, diaries, images, and more. About half of the materials from 1900-1950.
Dates: 1575-2014 CE
This database will no longer be available after Dec. 31, 2025. If you have questions, please contact askus@wellesley.edu.
Sex & Sexuality: Research Collections from The Kinsey Institute Library & Special Collections

Archives from researchers as well as the personal records of everyday people concerning all aspects of sex, sexuality, gender, public health, protest and advocacy, the bulk from 1940-1990 CE.
Dates: 1800-2017 CE
This database will no longer be available after Dec. 31, 2025. If you have questions, please contact askus@wellesley.edu.

Primary Source Collections on the Web

People with a History: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Trans* History Sourcebook
Presents LGBTQ+ history through primary sources, secondary discussions, and images. Part of the Internet History Sourcebooks Project at Fordham University.
Global Medieval Sourcebook
Online, interactive collection of medieval texts and their translations - Stanford University
Project Gutenberg
Oldest producer of free electronic books (eBooks or eTexts) on the Internet.

See the Find News Sources page of this guide to find newspaper coverage from different time periods.