Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Citations to journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations from the international scholarly literature of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, 1840 to present.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary subject searching of scholarly articles in the social sciences (1898-present) physical & life sciences (1899 to present), and arts & humanities (1975 to present). Search for articles that cite known journal articles or books.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Articles in all fields of medicine and biomedicine, with abstracts and links to additional resources from the National Library of Medicine, 1950 to present.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database. Dates of coverage vary by title and go back as far as 1887.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search engine for scholarly literature in all disciplines; link to fulltext articles in Wellesley-licensed databases.
Annual Review of Psychology
The Annual Review of Psychology, in publication since 1950, covers the significant developments in the field of psychology, including: biological bases of behavior, sensation and perception, cognitive processes, animal learning and behavior, human development, psychopathology, clinical and counseling psychology, social psychology, personality, environmental psychology, community psychology, and more.
SuperSearch is a great place to start for journal articles, books and almost everything else the library has, in one easy to use interface.
For searching with more focus and precision, try one of the databases recommended on this guide.
General Search Tips
- AND - combines search terms so that each search result contains all of the terms. For example, education AND technology finds articles that contain both terms.
- OR - combines search terms so that each search result contains at least one of the terms. For example, education OR technology finds results that contain either term.
- NOT - excludes terms so that each search result does not contain any of the terms that follow it. For example, education NOT technology finds results that contain the term education but not the term technology.
In many catalogs and databases, truncation is represented by an asterisk (*). To use truncation, enter the root of a search term and replace the ending with an *.
For example, type comput* to find the words compute, computes, computer, computing, computation, etc..
Types of Articles
Report thorough description of original research or theories. Generally scrutinized by a panel of subject experts (peer review) before publishing.
Provide information, news, opinions, entertainment to the general public on a broad array of topics.
Provide practical information for members of a profession, industry, or organization: news, trends, products, and research summaries.
Cover breaking news, news analysis, and feature stories.
PsycINFO - Quick Tutorial
How to search PsycINFO using the thesaurus.
Science Research in the News
Here are some links to popular news articles in the sciences.