Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Author Archives Online
This is only a selection; locate additional resources by searching for your author's name plus words like archives, letters or digital library.
William Blake Archive
Scans of Blake's illuminated books, commercial illustrations, drawings, etchings, and manuscripts. Also biography, resources for further research, and electronic edition of his Complete Poetry and Prose. From Lib of Congress and UNC-Chapel Hill.
Emily Dickinson Collection
Over 800 manuscripts relating to Emily Dickinson and her work and life, including letters and rough drafts of poems, from the collection at Amherst College. In the words of the guide to the collection
, "It is impossible for any transcription of these fragments to capture the important details of how Dickinson originally laid out her poetry on the page."
Digital images of Dante Gabriel Rossetti's manuscripts, proofs, original editions, some dating back to 14th century sources of his Italian translations. Also includes substantial editorial commentary and notes.
Walt Whitman Archive
Whitman's many notebooks, manuscript fragments, prose essays, letters, and voluminous journalistic articles.
The Shelly-Godwin Archive
The Shelley-Godwin Archive provides the digitized manuscripts of Percy Bysshe Shelley, Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley, William Godwin, and Mary Wollstonecraft.
Subjects: Africana Studies
, American Studies
, Cinema & Media Studies
, Cognitive & Linguistic Sciences
, Comparative Literature
, East Asian Languages & Cultures
, East Asian Studies
, German & German Cultural Studies
, Italian Studies
, Latin American Studies
, Russian & Russian Area Studies