Library Research Guides: POLITICAL SCIENCE: Find News & Opinion

U.S. & International News

New York Times Group Pass
Wellesley now offers free access to the current web version of the New York Times for currently-enrolled students, faculty, and staff, but registration is required. You must be on campus to register; after registering you can access your NYT account from anywhere.
Washington Post
This link is to the front page only. The Washington Post is available through several online databases. Use SuperSearch to find the databases with the most recent coverage. Historical coverage back to 1877 is also available.

US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Over 900 U.S. and international newspapers, including Boston Globe, New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal. Mainly 1980s to present.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Legal, business, and news sources. Includes law journal articles, legislation, regulations, court cases, company information, SEC filings, U.S. and foreign newspapers, and more.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
The past three months of hundreds of newspapers worldwide, in full image versions.

Global Newsstream
Search more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.

Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
Articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press, 1995 to present.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), full text database of newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses, 1960 to present.

Internet Archive: TV News
Over 1 million news programs collected since 2009 from national U.S. networks. New broadcasts updated 24 hours after air. Searchable index based on closed captioning.

BBC Monitoring: International Reports
Foreign news broadcasts in translation, 1979-present.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) This link opens in a new window
Broadcasts, news agency transmissions, and government statements from around the globe translated into English, with a focus on Cold War issues and communist states.
Dates: 1941-1996 CE
Current Digest of the Russian Press This link opens in a new window
Summaries in English of news from the USSR and post-Soviet press in Russia, 1949-present.

National Journal Publications This link opens in a new window
American politics and election coverage.
CQ Magazine This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and policy analysis on U.S. Congressional legislation, lobbying activity, members of Congress, bills, votes, amendments, and floor and committee activity.
Dates: 1983 CE-Present
OpinionArchives This link opens in a new window
Cross-searchable full-text archives of many news & cultural commentary magazines, including Nation, New Republic, National Review, New Yorker, and Harper's.