Library Research Guides: POL 247: Constitutional Law: Find Definitions and Background Information

Background, Context, and Definitions

Unsure what some of that legalese (legal jargon and terms) means? Check out some of these resources for definitions, encyclopedia articles, and explanatory concepts.

Historic U. S. Court Cases: An Encyclopedia by John W. Johnson (Editor)
Call Number: Clapp Ref. KF352.Z9 H57 2001
ISBN: 0415930197
Publication Date: 2001
This collection of essays looks at over 200 major court cases, at both state and federal levels, from the colonial period to the present. Organized thematically, the articles range from 1,000 to 5,000 words and include recent topics such as the Microsoft antitrust case, the O.J. Simpson trials, and the Clinton impeachment. This new edition includes 43 new essays as well as updates throughout, with end-of-essay bibliographies and indexes by case and subject/name.
Encyclopedia of the American Judicial System by Robert J. Janosik (Editor)
Call Number: Clapp Ref. q KF154 .E53 1987
ISBN: 0684178079
Publication Date: 1987
The Encyclopedia covers all aspects of the American legal system including the substance of American law, the processes that produce legal principles and the institutions that enact and enforce the law. The 88 original essays treat the history of each topic, emphasizing the social context of each period and the economic and political pressures that have shaped interpretation.
Black's Law Dictionary
Call Number: Clapp Ref KF156 .B53 2009
Comprehensive definitions of legal terms and abbreviations. Recognized in courts as the definitive source.
American Jurisprudence 2d
Core legal encyclopedia.
The U.S. Supreme Court: A Very Short Introduction by Linda Greenhouse
Call Number: Clapp KF8742 .G744 2012
In print and full-text online.