Library Research Guides: PHILOSOPHY: Digitized Primary Texts

Digitized Primary Text Collections

Perseus Digital Library Project
An "evolving digital library of resources for the study of the ancient world and beyond." Contains full text of the writings of many ancient philosophers.
Early Modern Texts
Offers versions of some classics of early modern philosophy, and a few from the 19th century, prepared with a view to making them easier to read while leaving intact the main arguments, doctrines, and lines of thought.

Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
EEBO is a full text primary source archive of nearly every book published in English in the Early Modern period. It covers all subjects including literature, science, religion, politics, and more.
Dates: 1473-1700 CE
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Contains every significant title printed in the United Kingdom in the 19th Century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Includes books, pamphlets, broadsides, and other printed works in English, Latin, German, Italian, French, and other languages.
Dates: 1701-1800 CE

HathiTrust
Large collection of digitized books. Especially powerful because you can search inside the full text. You can also create an ngram of an individual word across the corpus.
Google Books
Another huge collection of digitized books.
Open Library
A new search interface for the content digitized by the Internet Archive/Open Content Alliance.