Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
Reviews and citations to research literature in mathematics and related areas, compiled from Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications, 1940 to present.
arXiv This link opens in a new window
Open access to over 1.4 million e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.
zbMATH Open This link opens in a new window
Contains over 4.2 million records with reviews/abstracts of articles in pure and applied mathematics. Coverage begins in the 18th century and is complete from 1868 to the present. Also contains the database of mathematical software swMATH.
EULER is a European-based virtual library for mathematics.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary subject searching of scholarly articles in the social sciences (1898-present) physical & life sciences (1899 to present), and arts & humanities (1975 to present). Search for articles that cite known journal articles or books.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database. Dates of coverage vary by title and go back as far as 1887.
SuperSearch is a great place to start for journal articles, books and almost everything else the library has, in one easy to use interface.
For searching with more focus and precision, try one of the databases recommended on this guide.
General Search Tips
- AND - combines search terms so that each search result contains all of the terms. For example, education AND technology finds articles that contain both terms.
- OR - combines search terms so that each search result contains at least one of the terms. For example, education OR technology finds results that contain either term.
- NOT - excludes terms so that each search result does not contain any of the terms that follow it. For example, education NOT technology finds results that contain the term education but not the term technology.
In many catalogs and databases, truncation is represented by an asterisk (*). To use truncation, enter the root of a search term and replace the ending with an *.
For example, type comput* to find the words compute, computes, computer, computing, computation, etc..
Types of Articles
Report thorough description of original research or theories. Generally scrutinized by a panel of subject experts (peer review) before publishing.
Provide information, news, opinions, entertainment to the general public on a broad array of topics.
Provide practical information for members of a profession, industry, or organization: news, trends, products, and research summaries.
Cover breaking news, news analysis, and feature stories.
Browse Top Ranked Journals: Mathematics
Science Research in the News
Here are some links to popular news articles in the sciences.