Library Research Guides: JEWISH STUDIES: Find Internet Resources

News

Current News

Jerusalem Post 1988-present

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Under Sources select by region > Middle East > Israel, or choose a particular paper
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Online newspapers from around the world in full facsimile - past 1-2 months' coverage
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Current and historical newspapers, magazines, and journals in many languages from minority communities.

Historical News

Historical Jewish Press
JPRESS allows for full-text searches of Jewish newspapers and journals, some rare.

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Historical and current newspapers, magazines, and journals in many languages from minority communities.
Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection, 1799-1971 This link opens in a new window
More than 130 searchable newspapers published by members of many of the most influential American ethnic groups in 25 U.S. states.

Chronicling America
Five freely available historical Jewish newspapers available through the Library of Congress.

Key Internet Resources

Jewish History and Life

Jewish Life in America, c1654-1954 This link opens in a new window
Primary sources from individuals, families, cultural and political organizations focusing on American Ashkenazi Jewish life.
Dates: 1654-1954 CE

Center for Jewish History
A major research center for Jewish history, CJH has gathered electronic resources.
Heritage: Civilization and the Jews
Site for the PBS series of the same name.
Holocaust Encyclopedia
U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum
Internet Jewish History Sourcebook
Well-organized set of documents arranged by time period.
The Jewish History Resource Center
More than 6,000 links to information on Jewish history [ Dinur Center for Research in Jewish History]
Jewish Women: A Comprehensive Historical Encyclopedia
Yad Vashem
World center for holocaust research, education & commemoration.
The Pinkasim Collection
Recordbooks of Jewish communities from the 16th-19th centuries in Europe.
Yiddish Literature
A database of 800 Yiddish books printed from the mid-16th century through the 20th century.
Union List of Digitized Jewish Historic Newspapers, Periodicals and e-Journals
Links to serial publications in Hebrew, Yiddish, English, German, and more.

Jewish Religion

HebrewBooks.org
Searchable classic Hebrew texts.
Sefaria
A living library of Jewish texts in Hebrew and English translation.
Texts of Judaism
Internet Sacred Texts Archive.
Talmudic Manuscripts
A database of manuscripts from the National Library of Israel.

YOUR LIBRARIAN

Sarah Moazeni

she, her, hers

Email Me

Contact:

Clapp 218B

781-283-4021

Subjects: Education, History, Jewish Studies, Medieval/Renaissance Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Peace & Justice Studies, Philosophy, Religion, South Asia Studies, Women's & Gender Studies

Research Tip

photo by lessherger, flickr.com. Creative Commons license

For in-depth research, be sure to get a Boston Library Consortium card here at Wellesley to gain borrowing privileges at Brandeis University's Goldfarb Library, which contains one of the richest collections of Judaica in the country.

And check out their Near Eastern & Judaic Studies research guides!