Library Research Guides: ITAS/MUS 223: Italian Popular Song: Get Started

Welcome!

We hope this guide will provide some useful starting places as you work on your course assignments. On this page you'll find reference sources that provide definitions of terms, overviews of authors and works, historical background, and other information to get you started. Use the tabs on the side to explore other resources.

We're happy to talk with you about any part of the research process, from finding and evaluating sources to understanding how to cite them.

Music Librarian, Carol Lubkowski: Make an appointment with Carol!

Italian Studies Librarian, Karen Storz: Make an appointmen with Karen!

Terms, Background, & Overviews

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Includes full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2001, 29 vols.), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992, 4 vols.), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2002, 2 vols.), plus audio clips and links to authoritative music sites.
Oxford Music Online has updated its platform. Please see The New Oxford Music Online guide for more information about the changes.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Biographies, bibliographies and full-text critical analysis of authors from all genres and eras, including the contents of Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Literary Criticism.

The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
Over 1,100 entries on the history, theory, technique, and criticism of poetry, including coverage of more than 100 nations, regions, and languages.
The Oxford Companion to Italian Literature
Publication Date: 2002
Entries cover Italian literature from the early thirteenth century on. Contextual entries place writers and works in their wider social, historical, artistic, and political circumstances
The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms by Chris Baldick
Concise definitions and examples of a wide range of terms, including many related to poetry
A Dictionary of Opera Characters
Interconnecting Music and the Literary Word
Publication Date: 2018
Dante Encyclopedia
The Cambridge Companion to Petrarch
The Cambridge Companion to Boccaccio
Greenhaven Encyclopedia of the Renaissance
Seventeenth-Century Italian Poets and Dramatists
Twentieth-Century Italian Poets 1
Essays on Italian poets publishing between the beginning of the century in 1900 to the end of World War II.
Twentieth-Century Italian Poets 2
Essays on Italian poets publishing between the end of World War II to the mid-1990s.