Annotated bibliographies for a variety of subject areas.
Biographies of people who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from ancient times to the present. Each short article is written by an expert scholar and concisely describes a person's life, accomplishments, and influence, citing relevant sources. Covers Roman-era Britain to 21st century; only deceased individuals are included.
Dates: 100 BCE-2020 CE
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography allows only 1 user at a time. Please close your browser tab/window when you are finished.
Q: I don't read Latin/Old High German/Medieval Arabic/etc. How can I find sources in English?
A: You're in luck! There are many resources in English right here in the library and online. Click the links in the grey and white box for some of the larger ones. To find even more, perhaps on a specific topic, try finding one by beginning at a more generalized topic.
For example, I clicked on the link in SuperSearch for Medieval worlds: a sourcebook. In SuperSearch, you can click on the record title (pictured below) and scroll to see the subjects listed, including subjects with "source" in them. These typically have translated or transcribed primary sources.
EEBO is a full text primary source archive of nearly every book published in English in the Early Modern period. It covers all subjects including literature, science, religion, politics, and more.
Dates: 1473-1700 CE
Full text of core British primary and secondary sources for medieval to modern history (with primary focus on 13001800 CE). Primary sources focus on government records and include parliamentary records, land transfers, privy council papers, and more.
Dates: 11th Century CE - 20th Century CE
Contains every significant title printed in the United Kingdom in the 19th Century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Includes books, pamphlets, broadsides, and other printed works in English, Latin, German, Italian, French, and other languages.
Dates: 1701-1800 CE
