Skip to Main Content

Wellesley College Research Guides

Wellesley Home | Library & Technology Services | Research Guides

HIST 261: Civil War and the World: Home

Get Context and Overview

Encyclopedia of Southern Culture
Call Number: Clapp Reference F 209 .E53 1989
Broad, scholarly essays on all historical aspects of Southern life, from Agriculture to Violence and Women's Life.
Oxford African American Studies Center [e-resource]
Comprehensive source on all aspects of the African American experience from American colonial times to the present.
CREDO Reference
Search hundreds of high-quality encyclopedias at once.

Welcome!

Welcome to the guide for HIST 261.

If you would like to talk with me about finding or citing sources for your research in this class or any other, please feel free to make an appointment with me here:

https://wellesley.libcal.com/appointments/sarah

Find Primary Sources:

AM Explorer
Primary source collections primarily from American and British archives. Collection themes include empire and globalism, gender and sexuality, history, literature, politics, theatre, and war and conflict.
Dates: 15th Century-20th Century CE

This tool includes subcollections on the South and slavery. Search to get results across its collections!

History Librarian

she, her, hers

Email Me

Contact:

Clapp 218B

781-283-4021

Subjects: Education, History, Jewish Studies, Medieval/Renaissance Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Peace & Justice Studies, Philosophy, Religious Studies, South Asia Studies, Women's & Gender Studies