Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary subject searching of scholarly articles in the social sciences (1898-present) physical & life sciences (1899 to present), and arts & humanities (1975 to present). Search for articles that cite known journal articles or books.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Information on all aspects of human impact on the environment, drawn from a multidisciplinary collection of scholarly, governmental and general-interest titles.
Environmental Studies and Policy (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Over 3.3 million articles on global warming, climate change, soil, plants, agronomy, and more. The database includes diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database. Dates of coverage vary by title and go back as far as 1887.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Complete set of Annual Review back volumes (life, physical, and social sciences) from beginning through 2001, and to present for select series
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Collection of key scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences & natural sciences, starting from the first issue but typically not the most recent 3-5 years.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search engine for scholarly literature in all disciplines; link to fulltext articles in Wellesley-licensed databases.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Covers chemistry, biochemistry and molecular biology, biotechnology, environmental science, toxicology, and medicine worldwide, 1907 to present, and selectively from the late 1800s.
Requires one-time registration
(You can currently still use the old SciFinder Web
, but the platform is slated to be retired.)
SuperSearch is a great place to start for journal articles, books and almost everything else the library has, in one easy to use interface.
For searching with more focus and precision, try one of the databases recommended on this guide.
General Search Tips
- AND - combines search terms so that each search result contains all of the terms. For example, education AND technology finds articles that contain both terms.
- OR - combines search terms so that each search result contains at least one of the terms. For example, education OR technology finds results that contain either term.
- NOT - excludes terms so that each search result does not contain any of the terms that follow it. For example, education NOT technology finds results that contain the term education but not the term technology.
In many catalogs and databases, truncation is represented by an asterisk (*). To use truncation, enter the root of a search term and replace the ending with an *.
For example, type comput* to find the words compute, computes, computer, computing, computation, etc..
Types of Articles
Report thorough description of original research or theories. Generally scrutinized by a panel of subject experts (peer review) before publishing.
Provide information, news, opinions, entertainment to the general public on a broad array of topics.
Provide practical information for members of a profession, industry, or organization: news, trends, products, and research summaries.
Cover breaking news, news analysis, and feature stories.
Browse Top Ranked Journals: Geosciences
Borrowing from Other Libraries
Can't find what you're looking for at Wellesley?
Use WorldCat Discovery to search and request directly from libraries worldwide via Interlibrary Loan.
Questions? Interlibrary Loan Guide
Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay.
Science Research in the News
Here are some links to popular news articles in the sciences.