Library Research Guides: FRENCH: Internet Resources

Suggested French Resources

Wikipedia.fr
The French language version of Wikipedia, with separately written articles (not the English articles in translation).
Gallica
The digital presence of the Bibliothèque Nationale Francais. It contains millions of digitized newspapers, magazines, images, and sound recordings relating to France and French history and culture.
Bibliothèque et Archives nationale du Québec (BAnQ)
Includes a large digital collection of archival and published materials from or relating to Québec since the 17th century, especially newspapers.
Ministère de Culture
The web site for France's Minister of Culture
ABU: la Bibliothèque Universelle
a collection of full-text e-books by French authors, as well as links to French dictionaries and other reference tools.

ARTFL: A French Contextual Database This link opens in a new window
(American & French Research on the Treasury of the French Language) Contains nearly 2000 texts: fiction & non-fiction; mostly 18th-20th century texts, but also includes medieval, renaissance and 17th century texts; novels, verse, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises; literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy.

The Renaissance in Print: Sixteenth-Century French Books in the Douglas Gordon Collection
Facsimiles from the University of Virginia Library.
ABU: la Bibliothèque Universelle
a collection of full-text e-books by French authors, as well as links to French dictionaries and other reference tools.

Europeana
Search the digital resources (images, texts, sound, and video) of Europe's museums, libraries, and archives.
more...less...
Includes material from Culture.fr and Bibliothèque Nationale de France (Gallica)
EUscreen
Access to television archives (video, stills, texts) from across Europe.

Contact:

781-283-3497
lobrien@wellesley.edu
Schedule an Appointment

Subjects: Classical Studies, French & Francophone Studies, Medieval/Renaissance Studies, Theatre Studies, Writing

Gallica
The digital presence of the Bibliothèque Nationale de France. It contains millions of digitized newspapers, magazines, images, and sound recordings relating to France and French history and culture.

A project of the Center for History & New Media (George Mason University) & the American Social History Project (City University of New York). It contains topical essays, images, and primary source text documents.