Interactive maps exploring U.S. census, socioeconomic, and demographic data over time and across different, neighborhoods, cities, counties, states, and other geographies.
Dates: 1790 CE-present
Full-text magazine articles addressing different topics related to climate change.
Dates: 2004 CE-Present
Comprehensive, daily coverage of environmental and energy politics and policy.
Dates: 1969 CE-Present
News from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia, many in full text. Mostly in English, with a variety of other languages including Spanish, French, Portuguese, and German.
Dates: 1980 CE-Present
One of the largest full text collections of newspapers from the United States, as well as news sites, blogs, and newswires. Includes The Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal.
Dates: 1985 CE-Present
Article abstracts, some with full-text, covering all aspects of human impact to the environment, from scholarly and general interest magazines.
Political science resources, including scholarly and peer reviewed journal articles and think tank reports. Covers international as well as U.S. topics and sources.
Scholarly journal articles, books, and working papers on economics.
Article abstracts, some with full-text, to academic journals and magazines covering environmental issues and policies from diverse perspectives.
Why should I search the library catalog?
The library catalog is another way to search for books, ebooks, and videos. Although SuperSearch includes the library catalog, searching the catalog separately can give you a smaller, more focused set of results. You can also use the subject terms to browse related materials.
Try a keyword search. Once you find a book that's relevant to your topic, click on the title and look for Subjects in the record of that book to help you find "more like this."
Sample keyword search for
leads to linked subject terms and more books related to this topic:
Clicking the first word or phrase above will show you everything listed under the broader topic (e.g., Food supply). Clicking a subsequent word or phrase will take you to the narrower topic (e.g., clicking United States in the Subject Food supply > Government policy > United States will show you everything listed under that whole subject string).
Not finding enough? Search WorldCat and request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.
SuperSearch can be a great place to start to find out what's out there on your topic. SuperSearch will find books, journal articles, films, news, and almost everything else the library has — from popular to scholarly sources. You can use the filters on the results screen to improve your results.
For searching with more focus and precision, try one of the databases recommended on this guide.
