Can't find what you're looking for at Wellesley?
Use WorldCat Discovery to search and request directly from libraries worldwide via Interlibrary Loan.
Questions? Interlibrary Loan Guide
Library Databases Internet via Google, et al.
|
Paid for by the library so you have free access to scholarly information.
|
Some resources are free, but others require you to pay for them.
|
|
Content is evaluated for authority and accuracy. Access to peer-reviewed work.
|
Information is not evaluated for accuracy and may be incorrect, misleading, or biased.
|
|
Information is stable.
|
Websites come and go.
|
|
Use the Library’s Research Guides to find databases relating specifically to your topic (and get connected to a librarian for guidance).
|
The internet is a vast sea of information with no organization.
|
|
Library databases offer options to quickly limit or expand your search to find the articles you need.
|
A search engine (like Google) often returns an overwhelming number of results with no quick way to narrow them down or ensure they relate to your topic.
|
Courtesy of Brooke Henderson, Art Librarian at Wellesley College
Use these databases to find scholarly, peer reviewed articles on your topic.
Scholarly journal articles on international relations and political science topics.
Scholarly journal articles, books, magazines, and dissertations on international relations and political science.
Article abstracts, some with full-text, covering all aspects of human impact to the environment, from scholarly and general interest magazines.
Comprehensive collection of international journals, conference proceedings, and other scholarly literature, with a primary focus on STEM and social sciences. Article references are included in the record. Search by author, affiliation, topic and more, and search to see who cited a particular article.
Legal resources, many of which are full text. Includes law review articles, legislation, legal analysis, statutes, regulations, court cases, court filings and documents, news, and more.
Legal, business, and news sources. Includes law journal articles, legislation, regulations, court cases, company information, SEC filings, U.S. and foreign newspapers, and more.
Collections of government documents and scholarly articles on a wide range of legal topics, including civil rights, social justice, human rights, international law, the U.S. presidency, Congress, and more.
Why should I search the library catalog?
The library catalog is another way to search for books, ebooks, and videos. You can also use the subject terms to browse related materials.
Try a keyword search. Once you find a book that's relevant to your topic, click on the title and look for Subjects in the record of that book to help you find "more like this."
Sample keyword search for
leads to linked subject terms and more books related to this topic:
Clicking the first word or phrase above will show you everything listed under the broader topic (e.g., Food supply). Clicking a subsequent word or phrase will take you to the narrower topic (e.g., clicking United States in the Subject Food supply > Government policy > United States will show you everything listed under that whole subject string).
Another tip: try adding the word - policy - as a search term.
Not finding enough? Search WorldCat and request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.
Original source, non-edited and non-redacted "grey literature" (non-peer reviewed) in English, centered on climate change and the law.
Trial access through December 18, 2025. A feedback form will be available here soon.
Official primary source documents published by the judicial, legislative, and executive branches of the United States federal government.
Dates: 1895 CE-Present
Full-text, authoritative reports and analysis on major policy issues from the CRS, a non-partisan body of the U.S. legislative branch that provides research on topics of interest to Congress. Also contains current information on appropriations bills and the Congressional budget process.
Primary source documents from all three branches of the U.S. Federal government, including bill history, budget, Congressional Record, Supreme Court decisions, and Economic Reports of the President.
Collections of government documents and scholarly articles on a wide range of legal topics, including civil rights, social justice, human rights, international law, the U.S. presidency, Congress, and more.
Articles and reports on public policy, international relations, and world politics, 1915-present.
Dates: 1915 CE-Present
Full-text public policy documents from think tanks, NGOs, and research organizations.
U.S. bills, laws, legislative histories, regulations, Congressional hearing testimony, and some executive documents. Also contains guides with information on a variety of political topics, such as immigration, affirmative action, education, Native American relations with the United States, health insurance, and more.
Dates: 1988 CE-Present