Library Research Guides: ENVIRONMENTAL STUDIES: Find Articles

Borrowing from Elsewhere

Can't find what you're looking for at Wellesley?

Use WorldCat Discovery to search and request directly from libraries worldwide via Interlibrary Loan.

Questions? Interlibrary Loan Guide

Science Research in the News

Here are some links to popular news articles in the sciences.

Key Databases

Environmental Studies and Policy (Gale OneFile)

Article abstracts, some with full-text, to academic journals and magazines covering environmental issues and policies from diverse perspectives.
GreenFILE

Article abstracts, some with full-text, covering all aspects of human impact to the environment, from scholarly and general interest magazines.
Web of Science

Comprehensive collection of international journals, conference proceedings, and other scholarly literature, with a primary focus on STEM and social sciences. Article references are included in the record. Search by author, affiliation, topic and more, and search to see who cited a particular article.

Environment & Energy Publishing

Science Database

Articles, magazines, resports, books, and news in all fields of science, many with full text.
Academic Search Complete

Full-text scholarly articles in all disciplines.
Google Scholar

Scholarly articles in all disciplines.
JSTOR

Scholarly journal articles and books in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Does not include the most recent 3-5 years of many journals.
WorldCat Discovery

WorldCat Discovery aggregates the catalogs of thousands of libraries. It allows users to find and request materials Wellesley does not own.

General Search Tips

Boolean Operators

AND - combines search terms so that each search result contains all of the terms. For example, education AND technology finds articles that contain both terms.
OR - combines search terms so that each search result contains at least one of the terms. For example, education OR technology finds results that contain either term.
NOT - excludes terms so that each search result does not contain any of the terms that follow it. For example, education NOT technology finds results that contain the term education but not the term technology.

Truncation

In many catalogs and databases, truncation is represented by an asterisk (*). To use truncation, enter the root of a search term and replace the ending with an *.

For example, type comput* to find the words compute, computes, computer, computing, computation, etc..

Types of Articles

Scholarly Journals	Magazines	Trade Publications	Newspapers
Report thorough description of original research or theories. Generally scrutinized by a panel of subject experts (peer review) before publishing.	Provide information, news, opinions, entertainment to the general public on a broad array of topics.	Provide practical information for members of a profession, industry, or organization: news, trends, products, and research summaries.	Cover breaking news, news analysis, and feature stories.

Scholarly Journals

Magazines

Trade Publications

Newspapers

Report thorough description of original research or theories. Generally scrutinized by a panel of subject experts (peer review) before publishing.

Provide information, news, opinions, entertainment to the general public on a broad array of topics.

Provide practical information for members of a profession, industry, or organization: news, trends, products, and research summaries.

Cover breaking news, news analysis, and feature stories.