[Back to Top]
Welcome! This guide offers a few starting places for your research in ENG 291/391. If you would like to talk with me about any aspect of your research — from developing a research question to finding, evaluating, and citing sources — please feel free to make an appointment with me!
Trying some initial searches in SuperSearch can be a great way to begin to explore a topic from many angles across a variety of disciplines. Some tips:
These databases contain a variety of specialized encyclopedias, handbooks, biographical sources, bibliographies, and other reference works. They can be good starting places for getting overviews of a topic, biographical information, definitions of key terms, vocabulary for searching, and suggestions for further reading.
Annotated bibliographies for a variety of subject areas.
Hundreds of full-text academic encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other sources for introductions to topics, definitions, or factual information. Includes subject-specific titles from art, literature, education, science, religion, history and more.
Search across more than 100 full text encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works in the social and behavioral sciences.
Thousands of articles by scholars focused on the lives and events that have shaped African American and African history and culture, along with primary source documents, encyclopedias, and biographies.
You can also explore your topic in an individual encyclopedia or handbook.
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism (e-book) by 
Key Concepts in Race and Ethnicity by 
A Dictionary of Critical Theory (2nd ed.) [e-resource] by 
A Dictionary of Cultural and Critical Theory by 
The Oxford Companion to Black British History