[Back to Top]
Welcome! This guide offers a few starting places for your research in ENG 291/391. If you would like to talk with me about any aspect of your research — from developing a research question to finding, evaluating, and citing sources — please feel free to make an appointment with me!
Trying some initial searches in SuperSearch can be a great way to begin to explore a topic from many angles across a variety of disciplines. Some tips:
These databases contain a variety of specialized encyclopedias, handbooks, biographical sources, bibliographies, and other reference works. They can be good starting places for getting overviews of a topic, biographical information, definitions of key terms, vocabulary for searching, and suggestions for further reading.
Oxford Bibliographies are research guides in a variety of subject areas. Combining features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this resource directs researchers to top scholarship across a wide variety of topics.
An interdisciplinary research tool that allows you to search over 300 reference works simultaneously, including limiting to audio or visual materials.
Search across more than 100 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works.
You can also explore your topic in an individual encyclopedia or handbook.
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism (e-book) by 
Key Concepts in Race and Ethnicity by 
A Dictionary of Critical Theory (2nd ed.) [e-resource] by 
A Dictionary of Cultural and Critical Theory by 
The Oxford Companion to Black British History