Library Research Guides: College Year in Athens Program: ANTH 357: Home

Welcome!

This guide provides some useful starting places and strategies for doing remote research for this course. I'm happy to consult with you on any aspect of your research, from developing a research question to finding, evaluating, and citing sources. Email me or make a calendar Zoom appointment

- Karen Storz, Research & Instruction Librarian

Get Started with SuperSearch

SuperSearch is a great place to start for journal articles, books and almost everything else the library has, in one easy to use interface.

For searching with more focus and precision, try one of the databases recommended on this guide.

Because SuperSearch contains so much content from so many different kinds of sources, the results can sometimes be overwhelming and hard to focus. At the same time, SuperSearch is also not comprehensive and can miss key sources. To search with more focus, precision, and depth, be sure to try the databases recommended on this guide.

For more on how to search, see the Quick Search Tips below and the Search Tips & Tutorials page of this guide.

[Back to Top]

Selected Research Databases

Although SuperSearch can be a great starting place, it can sometimes be challenging to find the most relevant material in a flood of results. More specialized databases, like the ones below, can provide a "less is more" experience, by helping to focus your search on articles and books in your area of interest, with an emphasis on scholarly sources. Individual databases will also turn up results that SuperSearch misses. It always helps to search a few databases for the best coverage. Even when there's considerable overlap in content, the different search capabilities and features of each database can help you find different sources.

This is a selection of databases useful for the topics of this course. You have access to over 300 databases! To find additional databases relevant to your research interests, go to the Library's Databases A-Z list and use the Subjects menu.
For more on how to search the databases, see the Search Tips & Tutorials page of this guide.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database. Dates of coverage vary by title and go back as far as 1887.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to the literature of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research, from the 19th century to today.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
With a focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas, this collection includes articles that provide historical and current perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community, and changes in gender roles.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Information on all aspects of human impact on the environment, drawn from a multidisciplinary collection of scholarly, governmental and general-interest titles.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Articles on world history from 1450, excluding US & Canada, written since 1955. Can be co-searched with America: History & Life
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Collection of key scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences & natural sciences, starting from the first issue but typically not the most recent 3-5 years.
Politics Collection This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, think-tank reports, working papers. Comprised of four political science databases, which can also be searched individually: PAIS Index (Public Affairs Information Service), Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Political Science Database, and Policy File Index
Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Search many social science databases at once. Disciplines covered include sociology, political science, education, economics, anthropology, linguistics, and criminology. Component databases can also be searched individually.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
International scholarly literature in sociology, 1952 to present.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and books on women's studies, feminism, and gender studies, 1972 to present

[Back to Top]

Quick Search Tips

Use quotation marks " " to search words as a phrase. This will narrow your results.

"environmental justice"

Use AND to combine multiple concepts in your search. This will narrow your results.

"environmental justice" AND feminism

Use OR to find different ways your topic could be expressed. This will expand your results. Group these related terms in parentheses, so the database interprets them first. The following search will find results that have any one of the terms in the first set of parentheses along with any one of the terms in the second set.

("environmental justice" OR "environmental racism") AND (feminism OR intersectionality OR ecofeminism)

Use an asterisk * to find variant endings. This will expand your results.

("environmental justice" OR "environmental racism") AND (feminis* OR intersectional* OR ecofeminis*)

[Back to Top]

Choosing a Topic is Research!

Watch this 3-minute video about how picking and adjusting your topic is an integral part of the research process! (from North Carolina State University Libraries)