Library Research Guides: COMPUTER SCIENCE: Find Articles

Key Databases

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of articles and conference proceedings in all areas of computer science.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of international journals, conference proceedings, and other scholarly literature, with a primary focus on STEM and social sciences. Article references are included in the record. Search by author, affiliation, topic and more, and search to see who cited a particular article.
arXiv This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of articles, in Physical Sciences, Math, CS, and Economics. Many of these articles are not peer-reviewed and may not be the version published in journals.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles in all disciplines.

dblp: Computer Science Bibliography
Literature database in computer science. Can help you find scholarly resources in computer science.
CiteSeer
A digital library and search engine focussed on the literature of computer and information science.

General Search Tips

Boolean Operators

AND - combines search terms so that each search result contains all of the terms. For example, education AND technology finds articles that contain both terms.
OR - combines search terms so that each search result contains at least one of the terms. For example, education OR technology finds results that contain either term.
NOT - excludes terms so that each search result does not contain any of the terms that follow it. For example, education NOT technology finds results that contain the term education but not the term technology.

Truncation

In many catalogs and databases, truncation is represented by an asterisk (*). To use truncation, enter the root of a search term and replace the ending with an *.

For example, type comput* to find the words compute, computes, computer, computing, computation, etc..

Types of Articles

Scholarly Journals	Magazines	Trade Publications	Newspapers
Report thorough description of original research or theories. Generally scrutinized by a panel of subject experts (peer review) before publishing.	Provide information, news, opinions, entertainment to the general public on a broad array of topics.	Provide practical information for members of a profession, industry, or organization: news, trends, products, and research summaries.	Cover breaking news, news analysis, and feature stories.

Scholarly Journals

Magazines

Trade Publications

Newspapers

Report thorough description of original research or theories. Generally scrutinized by a panel of subject experts (peer review) before publishing.

Provide information, news, opinions, entertainment to the general public on a broad array of topics.

Provide practical information for members of a profession, industry, or organization: news, trends, products, and research summaries.

Cover breaking news, news analysis, and feature stories.

Spotlight on SUNY Albany's CS Guide

SUNY-Albany has an outstanding Computer Science guide. Highly recommend perusing the resources and categories!

Science Research in the News

Here are some links to popular news articles in the sciences.