Library Research Guides: COGNITIVE &amp; LINGUISTIC SCIENCES: Find Articles

Borrowing from Elsewhere

Can't find what you're looking for at Wellesley?

Use WorldCat Discovery to search and request directly from libraries worldwide via Interlibrary Loan.

Questions? Interlibrary Loan Guide

Science Research in the News

Here are some links to popular news articles in the sciences.

Key Databases

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Citations to journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations from the international scholarly literature of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. Access to a thesaurus of psychological terms.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of international journals, conference proceedings, and other scholarly literature, with a primary focus on STEM and social sciences. Article references are included in the record. Search by author, affiliation, topic and more, and search to see who cited a particular article.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and book reviews on all aspects of linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles on literature, languages, linguistics, film, folklore, and rhetoric, from all cultures.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly articles in all disciplines.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles in all disciplines.
WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
WorldCat Discovery aggregates the catalogs of thousands of libraries. It allows users to find and request materials Wellesley does not own.

General Search Tips

Boolean Operators

AND - combines search terms so that each search result contains all of the terms. For example, education AND technology finds articles that contain both terms.
OR - combines search terms so that each search result contains at least one of the terms. For example, education OR technology finds results that contain either term.
NOT - excludes terms so that each search result does not contain any of the terms that follow it. For example, education NOT technology finds results that contain the term education but not the term technology.

Truncation

In many catalogs and databases, truncation is represented by an asterisk (*). To use truncation, enter the root of a search term and replace the ending with an *.

For example, type comput* to find the words compute, computes, computer, computing, computation, etc..

Types of Articles

Scholarly Journals	Magazines	Trade Publications	Newspapers
Report thorough description of original research or theories. Generally scrutinized by a panel of subject experts (peer review) before publishing.	Provide information, news, opinions, entertainment to the general public on a broad array of topics.	Provide practical information for members of a profession, industry, or organization: news, trends, products, and research summaries.	Cover breaking news, news analysis, and feature stories.

Scholarly Journals

Magazines

Trade Publications

Newspapers

Report thorough description of original research or theories. Generally scrutinized by a panel of subject experts (peer review) before publishing.

Provide information, news, opinions, entertainment to the general public on a broad array of topics.

Provide practical information for members of a profession, industry, or organization: news, trends, products, and research summaries.

Cover breaking news, news analysis, and feature stories.