Library Research Guides: AMST 240/ENG 269: Wealth and Conflict in the Gilded Age: Find Background & Context

Why Use Reference Materials?

Reference materials such as specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks can provide

- a quick overview of a topic

- vocabulary or keywords for searching

- suggestions for further sources

Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies are research guides in a variety of subject areas. Combining features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this resource directs researchers to top scholarship across a wide variety of topics.

Credo Reference
is an interdisciplinary research tool that allows you to search over 300 reference works simultaneously.

AMERICAN STUDIES
by Karen Storz Last Updated Apr 2, 2024 19 views this year
ART & ARCHITECTURE
by Brooke Henderson Last Updated Apr 15, 2024 347 views this year
ENGLISH & COMPARATIVE LITERATURE
by Karen Storz Last Updated Mar 26, 2024 60 views this year

Search Oxford Art Online for authoritative background information on an artist, work, era, etc. This database includes:

The Oxford Dictionary of American Art and Artists (e-book)
Publication Date: 2008
A biographical and critical guide to American art from colonial times to contemporary postmodernism
A to Z of American Women in the Visual Arts
Call Number: Art Library Reference N6505 .K59 2002
Publication Date: 2002
A reference to American women in the visual arts from the 18th to the 21st century
Encyclopedia of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era
Call Number: Clapp Ref E661 .E53 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Entries examine people, events, and organizations, as well as political, social, economic, and cultural developments.
A Companion to the Gilded Age and Progressive Era (e-book)
Publication Date: 2017
Includes geographic, social, cultural, economic, political, diplomatic, ethnic, racial, gendered, religious, global, and ecological themes and approaches. Chapter 12 focuses on Art & Architecture.
The Gilded Age and Progressive Era: A Documentary Reader (e-book)
Publication Date: 2012
Presents documents that illustrate the variety of experiences and themes involved in the transformation of American political, economic, and social systems during the Gilded Age and Progressive Era.
Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History (e-book)