Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Political Cartoons
Google image search can be a great place to search for political cartoons. The big thing to keep in mind, however, is you need to be able to verify when and where the images are from! Google can help you narrow a time period, but keep in mind that unless the cartoon you select is published on a news website, the date may be inaccurate.
Use google image's search tools to refine your search and discover additional search terms:
Make sure you inspect where a cartoon comes from! The important thing to remember is click through to the site to understand its context and source. From our search above, we have two cartoons:
One from the San Jose Mercury News:
And one from a non-news website called Dreamstime.com, which does not have enough information and context to be a reputable source:
Find Newspapers and Other Sources
One of the best ways to search for political cartoons is to search a newspaper database. Try one of the newspaper databases below and limit your search to editorial cartoons or comic in the document type box in the search window.
Nexis Uni news sources
U.S. & foreign newspapers, 1980s to present (dates of coverage vary).
Current Digest of the Russian Press
A selection of Russian-language press materials in translation, 1949 to present. Formerly the Current Digest of the Soviet Press and the Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS)
Broadcasts, news agency transmissions, and government statements from around the globe translated into English, 1941-1996.
New York Times, 1980-present
Global Newsstream provides current coverage, but only news and editorial content in HTML format.
Washington Post, 1996-present
News and editorial content in text format only.
Thousands of magazines and newspapers in more than 60 languages, from over 160 countries, in original color print layout, from the past 45+ days.
One of the largest collections of US newspapers, many in full text, as well as news sites, blogs, and newswires from the 1980s to the present (dates vary by title). Includes The Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal.
Digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, produced...during the latter half of the 20th century.
Wall Street Journal 1984-present
Financial and economic news in text-only articles (no images), 1986 to present. For earlier issues or for images, see the microfilm (Microfilm Room, Level 1, Clapp Library).
One of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia, many in full text, as well as news sites, blogs, and newswires from the 1980s to the present (dates vary by title).
Full text of The Nation, a liberal, national weekly journal covering foreign affairs, local and national politics, education, law, literature, and the arts, from 1865 to present.
Socialism on Film: The Cold War and International Propaganda
Documentaries, newsreels and features showing the world...covering all aspects of the socialist experience from everyday life and society to culture, the Cold War, memory and current affairs.
Los Angeles Times, 1996-present
The West Coast's major newspaper. More recent coverage is only news and editorial content.