Library Research Guides: WRIT 135: The Age of the Anti-Hero: Home

Available from the Library

St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture (e-book) by Thomas Riggs
5 vols (2013)
Comic Book Crime: Truth, Justice, and the American Way (e-book)
Looks at how the historically important American cultural medium of the comic book both reflects and shapes an ideological identity focused on ideas of the apocalypse, utopia, retribution, and nationalism. Considers how class, race, ethnicity, gender, and sexual orientation are used to construct difference for both heroes and villains.
Feminist Perspectives on Orange Is the New Black
(2016)
Archetypes and Motifs in Folklore and Literature by Jane Garry; Hasan El-Shamy
(2004)
Epic Heroes on Screen
This collection brings together a range of perspectives on 21st century cinematic representations of heroes and antiheroes from the ancient world. (2018)
The Friendly Guide to Mythology: A Mortal's Companion to the Fantastical Realm of Gods, Goddesses, Monsters, and Heroes
Call Number: Art Reference BL311 .H38 2001

Starting Your Research

Key Databases for Scholarly Articles

Databases can contain a combination of full-text articles (ready to read online) and citation information about articles, book chapters, or books. If you see a "Find it! @Wellesley" link, follow it to get the full text. If we don't have it, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Literature & Film

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Index to publications on literature, linguistics, film, and folklore, from all cultures, 1963 to present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Articles on film and television theory, writing, production, cinematography, reviews, and more, 1914 to present
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Biographies, bibliographies and full-text critical analysis of authors from all genres and eras, including the contents of Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Literary Criticism.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Collection of key scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences & natural sciences, starting from the first issue but typically not the most recent 3-5 years.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Academic journals and books in the humanities and social sciences.

History & Society

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
U.S. & Canadian history articles, prehistory to present, written from 1964 to present. Includes the Journal of Popular Culture and other relevant titles, such as Journal of American Culture.

Subject Librarian

Karen Storz

Email Me

Contact:

781-283-3372
kstorz@wellesley.edu

Research & Instruction Librarian
Office: Clapp Library 218B

Subjects: Africana Studies, American Studies, Cinema & Media Studies, Cognitive & Linguistic Sciences, Comparative Literature, East Asian Languages & Cultures, East Asian Studies, English, German & German Cultural Studies, Italian Studies, Latin American Studies, Portuguese, Russian & Russian Area Studies, Spanish